A Hive Naija Prompt: My Favorite Community.

Good day everyone šŸ˜‡. Iā€™d like to participate in this weeks contest;

ā€For this week, we want you to share your favorite community with us. What is your favorite community? Why are they your favorite? What about the community appeals to you and captivates you? Do you think the community needs to improve? If YES, in what ways? If NO, can you share how much of an impact they've had on you? Feel free to also tag the community.ā€
Source

img_1927.png
image was edited using canva

When I joined Hive newly I was so lost for the first few weeks. I didnā€™t have any idea on what to do or how to do them, I made a lot of mistakes as well, I didnā€™t read community rules rather I didnā€™t know each community had their own rules. The only rule I knew about was ā€˜No plagiarismā€™. I knew that growing on this platform would take time and Iā€™d need to groom myself to a certain level as well. It requires patience but much more than I had expected initially.

I had started this journey with an empty pocket šŸ˜…. So I knew I couldnā€™t buy Hive power, I relied on patience and hard work. Iā€™ve not gone as far as Iā€™d wanted to go by now but at least Iā€™m happy I am where I am now, Iā€™m making progress and thatā€™s all that counts. In the beginning I was bummed out that my posts werenā€™t doing too well, Iā€™d invest hours into making a particular post and it wouldnā€™t get as much as one (1) upvote, I actually lost hope but later told myself that I literally have nothing to loose here. So I picked myself up and put in more effort, was posting consistently and trying out different communities. That is how I stumbled upon what I would regard as ā€œMy Favorite Communityā€ right now.

How did I stumble upon this community?

Since I was trying out different communities and I wasnā€™t seeing a lot of progress with most of them. A friend who is also on hive then asked what I like doing to help me pick a community I might fit into. I then replied: ā€I used to write stories a few years back when I was much younger but I never really explored it. I might as well give it a tryā€. He then gave me a list of communities that were writing-related and that was it.

What is my Favorite Community?

Drumrolls please.....

Well guys my favorite community right now is:
ā€THE INKWELL COMMUNITYā€ @theinkwell

img_1924.png
image is a screenshot from their page
Source

Why is it my Favorite?

I have quite a handful of reasons. But like I said earlier, I was loosing hope, the zeal wasnā€™t there again because most of my posts werenā€™t doing well and then I decided to try this community out, the first post I made there did a whole lot better than the previous ones so that was what gave me hope.

Secondly it made me rediscover my passion for writing. I began to tell myself that I actually have a thing for writing. Sometimes I might not know what to write for a given prompt but once I have an idea and I start typing, the words just seem to flow out of me.

What about the community captivates and appeals to me?

Firstly I like the way they publish prompts every week and the prompts are so flexible so you can twist your story in anyway or direction youā€™d want it to be in. Theyā€™re usually single words, so you can use them anyhow you want to, probably as a verb or a noun.

I also like the fact weā€™re expected to engage in other peopleā€™s posts, it just makes the community so lively and you can make a whole lot of friends from there, gain different perspectives, read a lot of stories and it just opens up your mind.

Also the use of specific tags goes along way.

I like the way that at the end of each week, they not only announce a winner but they announce honorable mentions for the week. Iā€™m always smiling from cheek to cheek whenever my name is mentioned in any of the above.

And lastly Iā€™m just happy with the way they curate the posts of members of their community. There was a time I broke one of the rules, unknowingly I must add, I was given room for corrections and the post was still voted.

How much Impact theyā€™ve had on me

I can say joining this community has been a blessing to me. Iā€™ve developed on my writing skills, Iā€™m happy when the community and fellow authors comment on my posts and give me ideas on how I can present them better. Iā€™ve gained much more confidence when it comes to writing as well, before I was so focused on romance alone but now Iā€™ve learnt to diversify and that different may be better. It doesnā€™t hurt to try new things.

A few times my stories have been listed as one of the ā€˜Honorable Mentionsā€™ and it makes me super proud. It makes me feel like Iā€™m actually good at what I do and Iā€™m being appreciated for it. It gives me the urge to keep going and then when they published the honorable mentions and winner for last weeks prompt, I actually won. I was actually the winner, I was so happy because deep down I know Iā€™m doing something right and Iā€™ll keep working on my writing so I can get better and better.

Thanks for reading! šŸ˜‡

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency