I Choose Happiness Regardless

Be happy in the moment, that’s enough. Each moment is all we need, not more.
— Mother Teresa



I was having a conversation with my sister yesterday and we talked about our plans for Christmas. It's getting close and usually we always have something 'big' planned yearly like travel to our hometown to spend time with our family or visit some relatives or friends or attend some parties.

This year, we don't have anything planned yet. So I asked her whether or not she was getting in the Christmas mood because before you blink an eye, the joyful season is here and gone. Just like that. She looked at me and said, "ugh, what mood? We have nothing planned yet."

I had to make her understand that it's not the plans, or the travelling, or the partying, or visits that make the season beautiful. It is up to us to choose to be happy and joyful.

IMG_20211025_105216.jpg

Happiness is a state of mind. It's not about the things we can see or touch. It's about how we feel each moment and choosing to be happy, to celebrate whether or not we have something 'big' planned.

There are lots of things that make me happy but I will settle for mentioning just a few. Having my family around me is a thing of happiness. Not everyone has people they can go to or call home. A home is not the building but the people inside it. That I get to go home to people who I care about makes me more than happy.

When things around me go smoothly and according to plan and things function well, that makes me happy! Haha, I know what you must think. Sometimes, plans can go awry, no doubt and when they do, I am unhappy. I always try to have backup for when this happens.

IMG_20211025_105143.jpg

Also, when things that should function well in a 'normal' world does not, such as electricity, telecom network service, and services generally, it can be frustrating! This is usually the status quo in Nigeria but I lean on other things to make me happy.

Also, when I have some cash at hand, I am happy! Yippee! Hehe, I know you feel the same too.

IMG_20211025_105246.jpg

Note, I don't mean crazy happy because money is just a tool to make my world better and a little cosy. So when I have some, I breathe easy and focus on other things.

However, when I am a little cash strapped, am I still happy? Yes, because I am alive, healthy, my mind is sharp and I can figure out a way to get what I need (not necessarily what I want). The saying while there is life, there is hope is very true in this circumstance.

Happiness is a state of mind and there are lots of benefits that come from being in such a state, the most important being our health. I try to always stay happy even when surrounded by depressing situations. Do you do the same?

Thank you for visiting my blog.

Image 1
Image 2
Image 3

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency