ORDINARY MEN

717mSRZNcL.jpg

I'm scared of reading some books that Jordan Peterson has suggested that people do not read. I think he was only capable of reading those books because he self-trained himself to understand why people do the evil things that they do...he did it to himself (cause these books are absolutely terrible) and for his career as a psychologist.

One of the books was Ordinary Men. In the book, Hitler had soldiers trained to drag out naked pregnant Jewish women and shoot them on the head and burn their bodies. They had to be trained to do this. Of all the evil things I read or heard, people have done… I think this tops it all up. There is something very sacred about the life of the mother and child that we as humans just naturally recognize, that’s why is important to note is that these soldiers had it trained into them. Apparently, this too is human. Among the wide spectrum of human capabilities is the ability to drag out a naked pregnant woman to the center of a concentration camp and shoot her at the back of the head.

When I was a child, I said that if I was a mosquito, I wouldn’t drink blood. I would tell the other mosquitoes that they are hurting humans and find a way to stop. I was a child then. I know better now to realize that thinking is not a mosquito’s strong suit. They are just animals. But humans, we think. We rationalize things and we conjure shooting pregnant women.

Before I say that is not what I’m capable of, I’ve had to put myself in the position of those soldiers who were asked to perform that task. What would it take to say no. what would it take to be different? Speaking out could easily cost you your life. Because each of them knew that there was something wrong with the order that was given. Heck, they even had to train it into them. Today, we are so angry at the events at the Lekki toll gate. People died. Another totalitarian government is cause death and destruction. but you don’t know what it takes to say no to those types of orders until you stand up to the tyrants in your life. So, you can point and judge all you want but four fingers are still pointing at you for all the times that you said nothing and allowed evil to prevail in your life.

It starts little by little to stand up to authority. The little ones. Like, standing up to your addictions. Then the little tyrants in your life. Like that friend who is actually a bully. Then the authorities like your boss can be addressed.

But if you keep on bending reality to fit you every time…when things straighten out you’ll be on the wrong side of history.

PEACE.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency