Hive Made me independent

Getting to know Hive was one of the blessings I counted during the COVID-19 lockdown. Prior to this time, I was financial dependent and could do nothing for myself except if given. I didn't grow up with a silver spoon, my mum who was into trade carried the entire burden of the family in her head, I could only imagine how hard it was for her then paying every bill for five children. We ate what was available and could eat one particular meal for a month with no concern. I know that's not the kind of life I had envisioned, but jobs weren't coming forth.

A year before the covid-19 breakout, I had enrolled for the HND programme and was just given an admission. I saw in my mum's eyes how worried she was, I knew it had to do with my admission and the state of her finances. August 2020, @shemzy introduced me to the hive platform. I wasn't a writer, never dreamed of becoming a writer but deep down I knew it's best to never say never, so I registered. God was on my side with the few posts I made and soon I was having a good post payout and I was able to assist with my registration fee and could buy some things I needed then in school. I could see the joy in my mum's face when I told her I had settled most of the bills.

img_0.07889895113386416

Photo Source

I continued to sponsor myself in school since I resumed till now. Hive not only made me independent but also assisted me in helping some of my cousins and my family meet needs. Now I could boost by sponsoring myself and having future financial budgets. Remember I stated earlier how I joined not because I can write but because I wanted to give it a shot, but now I can see how much I have improved in my penmanship skills. Hive also helped me got my first and second smartphone which I'm currently using, a young boy who never believed he could afford a phone worth #40,000 but through the hive platform bought a phone worth #90,000.

Joining the hive platform has also sharpened my mind to think big. I no longer see myself as the poor boy who came from the trenches with no dreams but someone who can achieve all that I'm able to believe that I can achieve. Daily I'm working harder to ensure I establish something tangible that could help me have a continued stream of Income and I also see myself getting there with the use of the hive platform.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency