Childhood memory

I grew up in the care of my grandmother, who was so strict when it comes to disciplining a child. Though she loved me , she did not spare the rod when I did something evil. Everything I needed was provided but the compulsion to steal was still there. During my childhood, I had kleptomania for meat, it wasn't really a medical disorder though, it was more like a philia(Love) for meat. Worst, I stole meat not for just myself but also for a little female child I assumed was my girlfriend.

One day, My grandma bought meat as usual, fetched some portion of that meal for me and left some in the pot. After consuming the portion that was poured for me , I went further to fetched some good portion of meat from the pot, ate them all with my little girl and I went out into the bush to hunt for games, bird and to set traps. I came back late hoping the issue around the stolen meat must have died down like the rest of the days. I felt at ease when my grandmother acted normal, she went ahead to serve me the evening meal without altering any word. I ate comfortable, believing the missing meat was not noticed and i had succeeded , unknowing to me, a big surprise await me.

img_0.9360269611673071.jpg

Photo credit

At around 2:00 A.m , a painful stroke of cane woke me up from my sleep. It was a time of reckoning. My crime had visited me. Before I could open my mouth to shout, I felt water sprinkled on me followed by another stroke of cane. "Knee down here, who took meat from the pot"? She asked "It's not m...". Before I could finish that statement, another lash of cane landed on my head. I forgot my location, "It's the devil" I said, crying profusely. " I will set that devil straight in you today" she replied. After the thorough midnight section of beating, I couldn't sleep. My compulsion for stealing meat left that instant. I woke up a new man and a repented citizen in the household.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency