My investment strategy

image.png

I've never considered myself a gambler but I have dabbled a little bit. In the past, I tried my hands in sports betting and I think I broke even at the end of the day.

I speak about gamblers because investing as a whole is taking a gamble on the asset or project. You put your money where your mouth or heart is, and when it's crypto-centered, the "gambling factor" about it becomes even higher.

Research; it goes without saying

Well, for starters, you have to do enough research into whatever you decide to invest in. I see a lot of people ape into projects simply because someone else said that it's profitable.

I read, and watch a lot of articles about various investments opportunities but I only do what my power allows me to do. I believe the term for this is "no go do pass yourself".

Always do proper research, figure out if it's good for you, and then proceed from there.

Can you teach bravery?

Even though I don't gamble anymore, I generally look at gamblers from time to time and adopt one critical ability that they have. Is it possible to teach bravery and balls?

My investments are 100% crypto-related, and if you know anything about the crypto market, then you'll know it's risky business.

In the general scheme of things, it has been mostly profitable and I'm grateful for that but I shit you not when I say that you need to have balls.

The first and foremost thing I need to use in my investment strategy is taking my chances. My investment portfolio is entirely crypto, so it's high risk and that's the main reason why I need balls in my dealings.

Getting in early

Since all my investments are crypto-based, getting in as early as sensibly possible is one of my priorities in investing.

I like looking out for gems before anybody figures out it's even there. When I do, I put in effort and money to accumulate as much as possible.

When I'm right, it feels good and when I'm wrong, well, I stake, read whitepapers and figure out how to cut my loss.

I don't gamble

I know I said I like the mentality of the gambler because they have balls but that's pretty much all I have in common with gamblers. Yeah, crypto is a high risk by nature but there are many ways to mitigate the level of risk.

I like high yield investments but most of my investments are actually low risk and low yield crypto investments. So, most of the time, you'd see me investing in mid-long term types of investments that don't promise immediate profit.

Focus on the project

Cryptocurrency investment is a numbers game and if you play with the right numbers, you could find yourself rolling in millions. However, one wrong move and you're going to be flat on your ass before you know it.

That's why I like to invest in projects, rather than just coins. Ironically, sometimes I miss out on big moves because of this but it's a principle that I'll hold on to, regardless of how the market goes.

The concept is that I don't invest or hold assets that I have no mental connection with. My simple rule is that I dump the unknown and move to the known.

Keep it within reach

Another important part of my investment strategy is that I try not to get over-exposed to too many assets. When push comes to shove, I could manage like 4 or 5 different assets in my portfolio at once.

I know people talk about diversification all the time but it's easier said than done. First of all, I don't even have the financial capability to profitably spread investments into multiple assets.

Secondly, I may also not have the time to manage all of them. I mean, maybe if I was richer, I'd employ someone to do it but right now, I have to keep it as simple as possible and focus my strengths on my strengths, rather than plugging holes.

Participation

I like investments that give me a hands-on opportunity to grow. I believe the reason for this is due to the fact that my journey started on Hive, and you know how gamified things are around here.

I generally like to be involved in some capacity and actively "click on stuff" to facilitate my growth. It gives me a sense of belonging and also keeps me on my toes.

So whether it's clicking around in a game like Splinterlands, or it's moving assets around on Cubfinance, I like to be involved in some capacity.

Community

Another prerequisite that's perhaps due to my participation on hive is my view of the community. If you go to somewhere like the Telegram group of a project you're looking to invest in, ignore all the bullish posts and look out for neutral people who state their opinions.

I mean, let's face it, you're investing in a project because it could come good but when you're optimistic, you might miss your blindsides. That's why it's important to get a nice balanced dose of good and bad news about a project.

Interacting with the community is a nice way to get tailored information about your investment. Always stay informed, don't miss out on relevant news, gather your facts from the community and stay updated about your investment.

Hopium

Finally, you need a decent dose of hopium because after you've done everything right, it could still go wrong. This part is not in your control, and there's really no metric to measure it.

You just have to put your best foot forward, take a chance, and hope for the best. Keep your fingers crossed, shill the coin or project on social media, do whatever you can to help your cause and after that, well, now we wait to see how it goes.


Please check out my Freelance gigs:

Contact & Support


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency