I think I am niche-less


erik-mclean-p1Xx215ooiM-unsplash.jpg

Photo by Erik McLean from unsplash


I joined hive December 2020, but there's a major reason I didn't create my first post until April 2021. The reason was I didn't think I had anything worth writing about. After joining I read some great posts and watched some videos and I wasn't sure I had what it takes. I eventually made my intro post after so much hesitation. From there I didn't know what to write about. "What next?" I thought to myself. I managed to string together one or two half hearted posts before deciding I'd give up.

Then all of a sudden I was opportuned to go and learn shoe-making. I felt like writing about my journey, so I felt hive would be the perfect place. This was my first niche. I began sharing my shoe-making processes. Of course it wasn't everyday something worth sharing would pop up, so I realized I had to shake things up a little. I came across the Inkwell prompt and it reminded me of my secondary school days when I used to write fiction. I made use of that little experience and joined in. I received a lot of support and interaction so I continued.

It was all great, I could do my shoe-making posts and write fiction to fill in the gaps.

I continued like this for a short while before stumbling upon a hive naija prompt. The topic was "What do you bring to the hive blockchain." if I can remember correctly. I felt this was something I could write about and I conveyed my feelings well. It was a decent post, so I decided I'd continue sharing my thoughts and doing prompts as long as I had knowledge about them. I also joined the newbies initiative that period so their topics helped me with posts ideas most of the time.

Fast forward to the present day, I haven't made any footwear in so long, and I no longer write stories every week. So how am I still creating posts?



Nowadays I do a lot of contests and prompts, then I write about things that come to my head from time to time While trying out other niches. At the moment I don't have a particular niche. I write whatever I feel like writing at that particular period of time, it could be fiction, it could be finance, it could be inspiration, it could be a movie review, It could be anything. I just find it difficult picking one particular type of content so I diversify. And whenever it gets hard to come up with something, I go around looking for contests and prompts.

When I look back, I realize how much hive has challenged me and improved my creativity. If you'd told me I'd be able to remain active on hive without shoe-making a year ago I wouldn't have believed you.But here we are today. Hopefully I'm able to keep the momentum, let's see what the future holds.

RNFetchBlobTmp_n38sr6mwsvcmmpq6v4om6i.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
42 Comments
Ecency