[HivenaijaWeeklyPrompt] What would you do differently for your kids

photo_1508205065970_cad01cebebb4.jpeg

source
Hello everyone!!👋 I'm super excited to be back on hive community after several months of being absent from social media.Its so good to be back.Hope you'all enjoyed your weekend.
So,I was introduced by my buddie @prechidi to a community known as
#hivenaija where I bumped into this very interesting question
and it happens to be a weekly contest where every writer gets an opportunity answer or give his/her own opinion as regards to the question given by this community. And that of this week it's so captivating which says What would you do differently for your kids.

In our society today , we've heard alot of stories about kids misbehaving as a result of influence from bad peer groups and bad parenting.Yes!! it's okay when they put the blames on the parents when a child misbehaves but we should not also forget the teachers in the school because 60% of a child's day is being spent in school and the remaining 40% with family.As a parent, I understand we can not keep an eye on our children for complete 24/7,but getting to know that child,communicate when necessary ,build a bond with that child so that he or she can be confident enough to walk up to you to tell you when something is wrong, is one thing some parents have become ignorant about.its really not about beating and scolding all the time.Have you ever sat down and thought about what could be going through your child's mind,what's going on in school,if she's being bullied and the rest of that.
photo_1516585427167_9f4af9627e6c.jpeg

Source

I could remember while growing up,I really didn't have this bond with my parents especially with my mum but she cool at her moment. Sometimes I would have something to talk about but because of the reaction and comments I would get I would prefer to keep it to myself. I wasn't bold enough to tell them when I'm going through a challenge nor was I able to share any experience with them.
They had no idea when I was being bullied,truamatized,forced into doing some stuffs unwillingly, I had to go through all that alone..

Why I'm I making reference to this story? That's because I wouldn't want to raise my kids in that same manner also. With all of my experiences while growing up ,I'm able to see things differently.i should be able to allow my kids make me their bestfriend so as to enable them to seek my advice always.
Yes I would flog and scold them very well when necessary but it would be done with love.

The bible made me to understand in
Proverbs 22:6 Teach children how they should live, and they will remember it all their life.
. It is how you train your child from the beginning that would determine how he or she will behave. As for me, I would train my kids to come to the knowledge of God by teaching them how to pray before meal, before bed,in the morning as they wake up,when ever they are faced with a challenge etc.,the essence of bible study and how to live a life that pleases God. Also, I would teach them about their tradition and they should be able to learn their dialect even though I'm not that fluent in it.😁.
However,my kids must learn about manners, how to greet and respect elders.Furthermore, I should be able to know the performance of my child in academics,social life etc.I'm a music lover, I play the piano, I'm a vocalist and also have an idea about the guitar. In that case I would make sure to enroll each of them in a music class to learn any instrument of their choice.
photo_1643818657367_491080baeece.jpeg

Source
Basically, I have a lot I would want to do with my kids but from the once mentioned above, beginning from bonding, having family time, teaching them about God, their tradition (what tribe they belong to),looking into their academics as well as their social life and so on, I vehemently believe I could achieve this with the help of God and also my future spouse.

Thank you
Love Azu Confidence 🤍🦋

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency