Suurpea. Estonia. All that's left of a Soviet military camp. June 2021

I blogged a few weeks back about getting lost in the woods and stumbling upon some weird encampment. You may have missed it.

Shame on you!

Anyways, eventually, unlike U2, I found what I was looking for, and I didn't need to climb any mountains never mind the highest ones. ( go on admit it, that song will be bouncing around in your head all day now).

To be honest there was not much left of a once rather large camp, which included, schools, hospital, and living quarters.

SPG_6001.jpeg

SPG_6074.jpeg

Some of the buildings were huge and were worthy of a walk about

SPG_5996.jpeg

SPG_5985.jpeg

SPG_5986.jpeg

More long dark now crumbling corridors that once were a hive of activity, some faded decoration at the end of the corridor

SPG_5994.jpeg

SPG_5992.jpeg

SPG_5998.jpeg
Back in the day when electricians worked from bits of paper, backs of fag packets.

SPG_5995.jpeg

SPG_5993.jpeg

SPG_5990.jpeg

I came across this strange little building

SPG_6010.jpeg

I cant explain why, but it was as though set up just for me

SPG_6002.jpeg

SPG_6008.jpeg

SPG_6007.jpeg

Label on the back of some Soviet made furniture.

SPG_6009.jpeg

google translate, didnt help much on this, but it could be gallery of some who served in the area?

SPG_6006.jpeg

This was a bit easier, a book entitled "railroad armour:

SPG_6003.jpeg

SPG_6004.jpeg

A fascinating book to flick through, the might of the Russian Army

SPG_6055.jpeg

What treasures will we find here?

SPG_6018.jpeg

A row of pegs in the washroom "sailor" someone, I wonder where he is now

SPG_6013.jpeg

SPG_6019.jpeg

Room with a view, and without doubt a housing block

SPG_6046.jpeg

SPG_6048.jpeg

SPG_6051.jpeg

SPG_6045.jpeg

SPG_6041.jpeg

SPG_6044.jpeg

SPG_6043.jpeg

SPG_6057.jpeg

i was wondering when I would come across some booze

SPG_6056.jpeg

SPG_6042.jpeg

SPG_6050.jpeg

There must be habitants, one apartment door was locked

SPG_6054.jpeg

Snapped through half a broken window, that i didn't fancy slicing my femoral artery on trying to get in.

SPG_6028.jpeg

I had ben told that there were two water towers still standing, with great views from the top, now I thought these would have been easy to spot but frigging hell, I searched for ages. I found one.

No worries, thought I, one at the top I will spot the other and other stuff of interest

SPG_6030.jpeg

There are some boring bastards in this world, who the fuck has chopped down the stairs!!

I managed to find an old laddery type thing, but even then couldn't reach the platform. Fuck off Mr. health and safety.

I never did find the other one.

I found this

SPG_6061.jpeg

Looked like a camouflaged bunker type of thing. Could I for the life of me get the damn door open, and without a jemmy to hand I gave up

Now another trek to find the car, its parked in a laybye somewhere, and I know the shoreline was on my left when I parked, thats really helpful.

I lived to tell the tale

Suurpea, I thank you for a memorable few hours, several insect bites, a few decent snaps and a busted clock

SPG_6049.jpeg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency