Friendly man in a little white van. Mooching round a former phosphorite processing plant, Maardu, Estonia.

Driving into an industrial area early Sunday morning, the sun already rising high in the sky, I was excited, in fact I was ecstatic, orgasmic even.

“Is exploring that good then ?”

On this occasion that was not the source of my ecstasy. I had spotted in a lay-by a blue and white van and a sneaky little fucker with his speed gun. Prick!

Get a proper job

44D200F4-3FA6-4E49-869C-64454B545793.jpeg

Then I spotted my prey and went into raptures, drool spilling over my bottom lip and dripping down my chin, soft gentle moans emanating from somewhere deep within.

Mooch? C’mon you know you want to.

D75A46E0-87F3-423C-8CB2-6230639FFA6F.jpeg

The original plant was built in 1925, but burnt down in 1938.
The Phoenix rose from the ashes with this big behemoth being constructed in 1939. There were other bits to it, but like most places, smaller enterprises have rented space and moved in.

So a park up and cautious approach?

A611AB2F-B157-4A06-BE17-412C849FEBE3.jpeg

That looks like a fucking cat! Let’s find a way in

48D8D24E-B030-4DB8-9C9C-417DF9BDBF1D.jpeg

Nope that didn’t work

SPG_6309.JPG

and that door was solid

so I was beginning to think this would be as good a fail as @slobberchops brings us

SPG_6308.JPG

well obviously I need I really need to get in here, oh dear! someone has bashed a door in, why didn't I think of that.

In we go.

SPG_6262.JPG

so it seems like this side of the bridge is the amenity and technical side of things, lots of corridors and rooms

SPG_6270.JPG

SPG_6280.JPG

Welcome to asbestos heaven. I guess when you need a place to doss/get pissed hold an illicit orgy or explore then asbestosis isn't foremost in ones mind.

SPG_6281.JPG

SPG_6282.JPG

SPG_6263 2.JPG

SPG_6274.JPG

SPG_6275.JPG

Some nice remnants of Soviet times, 1995 periodical, its sometimes quite amazing how maybe 1 just 1 page survives.

SPG_6272.JPG

SPG_6273.JPG

SPG_6277.JPG

who doesn't love a bit of PPE,

SPG_6267.JPG

SPG_6278.JPG

SPG_6284.JPG

now lets cross that bridge when we come to it

SPG_6286.JPG

SPG_6287.JPG

and I did. Maardu where this plant is situated was a small village, but overtime it has grown to a sizeable town (of over 20k) mostly on the back of mining and processing phosphorite for use in fertiliser

It continued during WW2 whilst under German occupation using slave labour from a nearby concentration camp.

When the glorious Soviet army began its push westwards the germans in retreat attempted and failed to destroy the plant.

It was as expected utilised and expanded by the USSR, but when the baltic States gained independence the business went into decline and production ceased at the turn of the century.

SPG_6297.JPG

now there aint nothing here, just a load of these flying rats.

SPG_6288.JPG

SPG_6289.JPG

SPG_6288.JPG

SPG_6289.JPG

SPG_6290.JPG

I shall make no political comment. wankers

SPG_6293.JPG

remember folks, when you are framing that shot:

exposure, yep spot on
white balance, yup
shutter speed, not too slow, keep it crisp
aperture setting, step it down a couple of stops methinks.

then you think, hmm I shall just take a couple of steps back.

JUST REMEMBER TO CHECK OVER YOUR SHOULDER FIRST

SPG_6292.JPG

So that was an nice little wander through the past; as I was emerging back into sunlight, a white van pulled up.

Here we go I thought the conversation went something like this.

Man in van. "I am security for this area, what are you doing, I see you are with camera"

Voice in head. " no shit Sherlock, you are wasted on security give Mr Putin a call Im sure you could be of use"

Me "yes its a camera, im taking photos in the area"

Man " what are you going to do with photos, who do you work for?"

Voice in head " fucking surreal! work for? If I tell you that I will have to kill you"

Me " nah, no one im from Wales, and im just taking photos for my own personal use, don't worry im not press or anything"

Man " what is this Wales, what is that"

Voice in head "you fucking cheeky twat"!

Me "its in England " (cringe)

Man " have you just been in that building"

Voice in head " I cannot tell a lie: No"

Me "yes" (here we go thinks I)

Man in van: " well you be careful, and if photos are only for you that's ok, have a nice day"

Voice in Head: " cheers"

Me "cheers"

and off he drove, to round up some other miscreants,

Don't ya just love security guys like that.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency