A Moochin' We Will Go - Derelict Wagon Works, Derbyshire

This was our second attempt at accessing the old derelict wagon works in my home town. It’s a well explored place. People said it's easy if you are in the know. Unfortunately, the last time we visited we couldn’t find a way in as there was a metal fence around the perimeter.

Not a lot is known about the place. I've lived in this town all my life but I never knew it existed. According to 'Grace's Guide to British Industrial History' it was once owned by Hurst, Nelson and Co based in Motherwell, Scotland. It closed in the early 1980s and had connections to the Midland Railway.

Looking on Google Earth, I thought perhaps we could access the place through the neighbouring paint factory yard (pretending to be customers). Then I remembered, my brother and I look as shifty as shit. I knew I'd have to utilise my blagging skills, so it wasn’t looking promising.

Upon arrival, we were pleased to find that someone had pulled one of the railings off the fence, leaving a gap for two old farts to access. The gap was big enough for the .... ahem ... fuller figure. I was well pleased.

I thought getting to a certain age might have made me more safety conscious, but I quickly found myself upstairs not knowing what I’d find. The floor looked OK from downstairs though, so I gave it a whirl. Disappointingly, there wasn’t anything up there apart from graffiti .... but very good graffiti!! Places like this wouldn't be the same without a Coloquix piece.

Yes, I admit to product placement here! I found the Corona bottle and because of what's been happening this past 18 months and the fact I'm walking around this old derp, well ... it seemed quite apt.

The outside factory buildings looked more like gigantic greenhouses, with nature taking over as usual.

Building and contents wise there wasn’t much to see. Even though it is based in an industrial area, it felt as though it was out in the sticks somewhere, and of course seeing the graffiti made the explore worthwhile.

Photos by @ellenripley - Julie S. All rights reserved.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency