This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

From Ovada until Nice - do you know how many tunnels there are?

IMG_20230727_092329.jpg

It was not clear where this post would belong... This is not a travel post, showing a certain place we visited. We were on the road, on a stage of the road that my husband doesn't really like. And I... well, I'm having fun, as always 😂
So I just hope that Treasures of Europe would be a good option, as travelling is also a treasure :))

Driving from Italy to France can be done in a few ways. Until now we tried three different roads, but not many more options are left to experiment. One year, we drove to the north, from Turin (Torino) in Italy to Chambery and Grenoble in France. It was nice but we had to pay 47€ for one tunnel that connects Italy and France...

There is a road that goes through the mountains from Aix-en-Provence to Turin (we made the way from France to Italy this year, and how nice it was... though there is a part of a local road, not everything is a highway).

The third and most frequent road we use is driving to Genoa and then toward France passing Savona, Imperia, San Remo, Ventimiglia... That is a beautiful area, we pass by mountains and sea, there are many curves and... tunnels! Many of them!

IMG_20230727_100811.jpg

That is why my husband (when he drives) doesn't like this part of the road trip as every few minutes we go from daylight to darkness! 😆

But I understand, it tires his sight. He takes off and puts back his sunglasses many times. Do you know how many? Make a wild guess before you see the results!

Sometimes I count the tunnels, but then I get confused, and I forget... so I have just an inaccurate number.

This year I took a piece of paper I found in my purse, a pencil and drew a line for each tunnel we passed.

From Ovada, where the tunnels start until Genoa there were already 25 tunnels... Then I started a new line passing the city of Genoa. I said already, I am having fun. Never bored on the journeys. Sometimes I am the GPS lady, other times the DJ, or driver, or in charge of food distribution from the back seat. This time I was noting down the number of tunnels!

IMG_20230727_101108.jpg

The tunnels were coming and I was drawing lines. Enjoying the ride. The landscape.
checking the GPS. Luckily I didn't fall asleep counting so many of them... Like when one counts sheep before falling asleep :D

IMG_20230727_103054.jpg

Screenshot_2023-07-27-10-21-39-406_com.google.android.apps.maps.jpg

The number of lines was drastically growing. My husband was asking how many of them we passed until now... as we knew more or less how many tunnels there were but not the exact number.

At this moment, we have already passed 81 tunnels:

IMG_20230727_105726.jpg

But we still had a lot to go. More tunnels!!!

I am surprised we didn't end in some different dimension, as I was joking in one of my posts in the past.

IMG_20230727_103101.jpg

Ventimiglia is almost the last city in Italy before we enter France. But there doesn't end the story with the holes in the mountains...

IMG_20230727_102107.jpg

IMG_20230727_102011.jpg

Until the city of Nice, there are tunnels.

Did you make your guess at the beginning of this post? Here is the result.

From Ovada, Passing Genova and arriving at Nice, there were:

140 tunnels

IMG_20230727_130804.jpg

Did you imagine that?

Believe me, it is a very nice part of Italy but it is a bit tiring for the driver.

The road after Nice, toward Antibes, Cannes and Marseille is easier!

I hope you had fun like I had while drawing these lines :))

IMG_20230727_130849.jpg

mipiano_-_MP.png