How to Open Newer Premiere Projects in Older Versions

1406702_erropremiere.jpeg

A friend of mine asked me to cut his 2022 directing reel, but because my Mac Pro is a just a few years too old, I wasn't able to upgrade Adobe premiere to ver 22 and continue the project he created for his reel. I'm stuck on ver 15.

I suspect there are quite a few people out there who don't want to, or can't, spend a couple thousand bucks just so they can upgrade their Premiere project for a two minute reel. So, I went looking for a potential work around and found this tutorial that helps you change the version number of the project file.

Unfortunately, this only works with Windows, so I was only able to complete half the tutorial. Given that I was running out of time, I had to abandon this approach and just use an older project on the drive to get started.

That said, I know that Windows is far more ubiquitous as an OS and thought this might be helpful for the community here to extend the life of their systems, should they have an older one like I do.

It's quite an ingenious solution.

If anyone tries this, please let us know your success here!

MOVIES!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency