My beauty routine: Hair journey and routine edition.

I have always loved my hair and making hairstyles. It was only in 2016 however, that I started learning about how to take care of mine.
In 2016, I chopped my hair and started doing it at home. I have 4b hair and it really broke when I did styles like braids and tight updos. I have not been in a hair salon in 4 years and I am very proud of being able to do my hair at home.

Here is my hair journey

2012

My hair was healthy. I was blow drying my hair every month and it was only a matter of time before I started noticing some breakage.

image.png

image.png

2013

The hair was not so bad. I enjoyed this phase most.

image.png

image.png

2015

I experienced breakage and edges loss. I was also going through the stress of living alone and job hunting. i was not eating so well. My hair started breaking off.

image.png

*I am holding wine in most of my pics because the only photos I took back then were for my wine blog

2016

I cut all my hair. The breakage was too much. I enjoyed the cut life for sometime and then I started growing it back and learning about taking care of my hair.

image.png

image.png

2017

I chopped the top to make my hair an equal length and started with a TWA (teeny weeny afro), 2017 ( stretched frowhawk)

image.png

image.png

2018

I did not put any heat on my hair. I was now watching YouTube hair videos religiously. I was intentional with my products. I used the warm setting if I had to stretch my hair.

image.png

image.png

2019

early 2019

I dyed the tips honey brown and this was a huge mistake because the texture of my hair changed.

Late 2019

My hair was growing and it was so full and thick

image.png

image.png

2020

Clearly, my hair flourished in 2020. I fell in love with my hair and enjoyed learning about it.

image.png

image.png

2021

My hair is vey healthy in 2021. I have trimmed it but I feel that it is teh best. I am currently chasing health instead of length by practicing my routine below

image.png

The hair routine that works (for me)

  • Minimal manipulation. My hair is mostly in twists/matutas (three strand braids/twists)
  • I do everything (braiding, trimming, straightening, styling) myself and haven't been to a salon in 4 years
  • I use castor and olive oil then shea butter. I use Suave shampoo and conditioner
  • I wash once every 1.5 weeks. I avoid overwashing. Most people say wash every week but for me that causes breakage. Do what works
  • I am not a product junkie at all. I take so long to introduce products to my routine.
  • I pay attention to how my hair feels and looks after I use certain products. Does it feel dry, does it cause breakage, flaking etc.
  • I use a wide toothed comb* and fingers to detangle.
    image.png
  • I protective style a lot. twists, wigs, matutas.
  • I avoid braids like the plague as they destroyed my edges a few years back. I had to learn on Youtube how to do my own braids because I couldn't find someone who wouldn't yank out my edges. I didn't look hard enough probably.
  • When I braid, I don't just oil my edges/ scalp. I put some water and my oils in a spray bottle and mist my edges.
  • I use lots of natural oils and stick to a simple LOC/ LCO routine. I am not a fan of complicated hair routines with 60 expensive products.
  • I learn from Youtubers who have the same hair type as mine.
    I.e. I have managed to find like 3 who I have learned from over the years. (OnlyoneJess, Latoya Ebony and Shanique Buntyn).
  • Also if I can't find all products that Youtubers speak about, I look for local substitutes, buy on amazon or skip.
  • I also avoid heat. I have a blowdrier but I use it when I reaaaaly have to.
    This is what works for me. I am not an expert. All this info I got from Youtube University.
    Lastly. Most importantly: Learn what works for you. Just like skincare, everyone's hair is unique. Educate yourself on Youtube. You will be surprised how much you can learn..
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency