3D Printing "HIVE" in Braille on a Cube

hive-braille-box.jpg
Image Source: Personal Photo

This is an update to my post from last week about experimenting with adding braille text to 3D printed objects. That previous post is here: @holovision/3d-printing-objects-with-braille

For my latest attempt at accurately 3D printing braille text vertically while 3D printing objects I tried using Braille Bricks in my design. Braille Bricks were posted on Thingiverse by User singulardevices under a Creative Commons CC BY-SA license.

For my design I imported into Tinkercad the .stl files for the H, I, V, and E braille cells and dragged a box from the Shape Panel onto the workplane.

hive-braille-box01.jpg
Image Source: Tinkercad.com

After scaling up the box to be slightly larger than the objects I was going to embed into it I reoriented the Braille Bricks objects and embedded each one into a side of the box so only the braille dots composing each cell protruded out. I put the "HIVE" text on top to fill up the unused space and quick identification for anyone with sight.

hive-braille-box02.jpg
Image Source: Tinkercad.com

After that I grouped all the objects into one object to be saved and exported out as a .stl file.

hive-braille-box03.jpg
Image Source: Tinkercad.com

It took almost two hours to print this model. It was 35mm along each axis. I used a 0.4mm nozzle and the printed model is 20% infill.

hive-braille-box04.jpg
Image Source: Personal Photo

hive-braille-box05.jpg
Image Source: Personal Photo

Since the Braille Blocks I incorporated into the design are meant primarily as a teaching tool for braille the dots composing each braille cell are larger and more flat than standard printed braille text.

braille-H.jpg
Image Source: Personal Photo

braille-I.jpg
Image Source: Personal Photo

braille-V.jpg
Image Source: Personal Photo

braille-E.jpg
Image Source: Personal Photo

Compared to my previous attempt at 3D printing objects with braille text embedded on the vertical side this turned out much better. I still need to try using a smaller diameter 0.2mm nozzle but this seems to work for simple braille use and makes me confident that my Tronxy XY-2 PRO is capable of 3D printing objects with braille text.

hive-box.jpg
Image Source: Personal Photo

My Thingiverse account: https://www.thingiverse.com/holovision/designs
My Thangs account: https://thangs.com/Holovision
3D printing community on Hive: /created/hive-103035

If anyone has any thoughts or suggestions please feel free to leave them in a reply below. Thanks.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency