Wet Grass | Qurator's Photo Quest | Botanical Photography

I don't even know for sure what plant this is, but I think it is a kind of Alopecurus or Foxtail Grass.

It's a rainy day here in Austria and I take advantage of that situation by sorting and editing photos. While browsing through the latest Hive posts in between I noticed the Botanical Photography Photo Quest by @Qurator and thought I could join once again with a photo that suits to this wet day ...

Wet Grass
Qurator's Photo Quest | Botanical Photography

Wet Grass
❖ please click the image for fullsize view ❖

Canon EOS R | SIGMA 105mm 1:2,8 DG MACRO HSM
1/125 sec . f/3.5 . ISO 200 . 16 images focus stack

I took 16 photos of this wet piece of grass above, which I have stacked in PhotoShop, but still not everything in the image is sharp. Especially annoying for me is that I didn't look properly through the photos right after I have taken them, and so the leaf with the single dew drop, which is the main subject in the photo, isn't sharp at all.
Nevertheless I like this photo somehow and think it is worth to be shown 😉


While I was searching for a photo which I can use in the Photo Quest I have seen these images of an Evening Primrose (Oenothera) and thought that only one or two images in a post is certainly not enough 😉

Oenothera - Evening Primrose
❖ please click the image for fullsize view ❖

Canon EOS R | SIGMA 105mm 1:2,8 DG MACRO HSM
1/80 sec . f/10 . ISO . 200
Oenothera - Evening Primrose
❖ please click the image for fullsize view ❖

Canon EOS R | SIGMA 105mm 1:2,8 DG MACRO HSM
1/30 sec . f/18 . ISO . 200

I have taken the photos of the Evening Primrose on the same day as the above and below images of wet grass during a morning walk at the reservoir near home in July this year. I tried different aperture values which effects you might notice when you look at the withering blossom in the background.

Water Drop on Grass
❖ please click the image for fullsize view ❖

Canon EOS R | SIGMA 105mm 1:2,8 DG MACRO HSM
1/80 sec . f/3.5 . ISO 200


Information

Alopecurus / Foxtail Grass - Wikipedia
Oenothera - Wikipedia

I take all my photos with the Canon EOS R and one of these lenses: Canon RF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM, Canon EF 70-200mm f/4 L IS II USM, Canon EF 16-35mm 1:4 L IS USM, Canon EF 50mm 1:1.8 L STM, SIGMA 105mm 1:2,8 DG MACRO HSM, SIGMA 150-600mm F5-6.3 DG OS HSM C.

I leave all EXIF and IPTC information stored in the pictures.


If you like my work I would appreciate an upvote, nice comment or maybe you want to share my post on your blog 😊 ... and maybe you would like to follow me, so that you never miss a post from me.

Thank you so much for visiting my blog,
have a nice Sunday evening and a great week ahead,
Johann Piber @johannpiber
Photos and Text: @johannpiber | Johann Piber | All rights reserved - do not use without my permission

create hive blockchain account

Not got a Hive account yet? Sign up free here!

2020-10-11
#hive5 from Austria 🖐️
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
173 Comments
Ecency