Vegan scalloped potatoes with rosemary - Hive top chef

This week rosemary is the topic of Hive top chef
DSC_3099.jpg

When I think of rosemary I always think of potatoes. I also associate it with some kind of meat roast but I don't eat meat or animal products. I have made a scallop potato dish primarily on the stove and finished off under the oven broiler.

DSC_3002.jpg

Scalloped Potatoes with rosemary
Four large potatoes (I used baking potatoes)
2 cups vegan cheese sauce
1/4 cup sundried tomatoes(optional)
3 tablespoons tomato confit for garnishing (optional)
3 tablespoons caramelized onion for garnishing (optional)
Fresh or dried rosemary (used dry Sicilian rosemary)

Vegan cheese sauce
1 small carrot
1 onion sliced
3 tablespoons rice flour
3 tablespoons tapioca flour
1 tablespoon butter (I used vegan butter)
1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
3 tablespoons nutritional yeast
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon onion powder
2 cups milk (used soy)
Salt and pepper
Salt and pepper

DSC_3026.jpg

Saute the cooked carrots and onions in butter.

DSC_3037.jpg

Add dry ingredients and mix well.

DSC_3041.jpg

Add milk, cook down until thickened and puree.
DSC_3051.jpg

I blanched the scalloped potatoes quickly in boiling water because it was going to be cooked on top of the stove. My oven has a broken lower element.

DSC_3050.jpg

Spread sliced potatoes in a large non stick pan or skillet that is oiled or buttered.

DSC_3054.jpg
Pour cheese sauce on top.

DSC_3060.jpg

DSC_3071.jpg

Add rosemary, sundried tomatoes and black pepper. Simmer covered until the potatoes are tender.

DSC_3075.jpg

Since my top element on the oven still works, I transferred the potatoes to a couple of mini cast iron skillets. I garnished with tomato confit and caramelized onions and put under the broiler to crisp up the top.

DSC_3098.jpg
Tomato confit
seven to ten plum tomatoes fresh or canned
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 tablespoon sugar or maple syrup or agave nectar (I used maple).
2 cloves minced garlic
1/2 teaspoon thyme
1/2 teaspoon salt
3 tablespoons red wine vinegar or balsamic

Caramelized onion
1 sliced onion
1 tablespoon red wine vinegar
1 teaspoon sweetener (I used agave nectar)

Saute onions in hot oil in a pan and add the other ingredients. Cook down until browned.

Cook garlic in oil then add the rest of the ingredients simmering until moisture is evaporated.

DSC_3103.jpg

Most scallop potatoes are usually a side dish on a table with a protein and other items.

DSC_3084.jpg

With a salad and some buttered peas it was a perfect brunch for us.

DSC_3095.jpg

Thanks for stopping by!

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
20 Comments
Ecency