Tofu with miso maple ginger sauce -Hive top chef

For this week on Hive top chef we have been given the theme of signature dish.

DSC_2298.jpg

When I hear the words, signature dish, the first thing comes to mind is a dish created by a well known chef or particular restaurant. It seems to be a grey area, in that regions around the world and cultures also have what could be called signature dishes.

Since I eat only plant based/vegan, I will say that tofu is a signature of vegan food. If a meat eater would pick something that vegans eat, I think many would say tofu. This tofu dish that I prepared will have an Asiatic theme.

DSC_2263.jpg

There are always people that say they hate tofu, even vegans that I know. They say it has no taste. Yes it can be very true, which is why I marinate it for a while. This time I marinated it by cooking in the marinate until the liquid absorbs. For the marinade I used a mix of vegetable broth to cover the tofu, a splash of soy sauce, chili powder and onion powder. The sauce later will add to the flavor of the dish.

DSC_2270.jpg

Tofu with miso maple ginger sauce

1 brick firm tofu
2 small bok choy bunches
1/cup chopped onion
1 small potato
1 cup edamame puree
1cup carrot mash

For the edamame puree, I boiled the beans then blended adding enough vegetable broth to move the beans in the blender, 1 teaspoon sesame paste, juice of half a lemon and a pinch of salt. For the carrot mash I just added enough vegetable broth to mash it. It was from one carrot that was first boiled.

Sauce
1 tablespoon miso paste
1 teaspoon sesame oil
3 tablespoons mirin
4 tablespoons maple syrup
1/4 cup water
1 shallot minced
3 cloves garlic minced
2 tablespoons minced ginger

Saute the ginger, garlic and shallot than add the rest of the liquid ingredients. simmer to reduce until thickened. blend then strain out bits.

For the garnish I made strips of potato and fried until crispy.

DSC_2274.jpg

After the liquid from the tofu is absorbed, remove tofu from the pan. Clean the pan and add oil to cook the onion and bok choy.

DSC_2277.jpg

Don't cook for more than a minute before adding the tofu back to heat up.

DSC_2280.jpg

First I plated the bok choy then add a slice of tofu, then a layer of carrot mash then another slice of tofu. Repeat with the second last thing being edamame puree. Top with potato strings.

DSC_2287.jpg

You could also just plate each item side by side and pour the sauce over top.

DSC_2308.jpg

DSC_2299.jpg

I decided to stack it to try and create my idea of a signature dish.

DSC_2305.jpg

DSC_2294.jpg

Thanks for dropping by!

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
26 Comments
Ecency