Sweet pea pods stir fried with rice noodles

This weeks topic on Hive top chef is peas.

DSC_5548.jpg

I have chosen whole sweet peas for this dish. I always love a stir fry so that's what I've done.

I went to Chinatown to get the peas in a pod. I was also hoping for some pea shoots but they were not available.

DSC_5521.jpg

To add to the stir fry was some exotic mushrooms that I got from a mushroom stand at a local market in the park.They are called lobster mushrooms. They cost more than lobster so there was just a hint of them.

DSC_5495.jpg

Anyway the star of the show is snow peas or snap peas or pois mange tout. I don't know what they are called so I will say peas in a pod.

DSC_5518.jpg

Sweet pea stir fry
Sweet peas in a pod (around 8 cups)
1 chopped red onion
1 minced shallot
5 garlic cloves minced
1 teaspoon minced ginger
1 cup water chestnuts
1 cup bamboo shoots
2 or 3 dried chilis or fresh or none
1 cup lobster mushrooms
1/4 cup soy sauce
2 tablespoons vegetarian oyster sauce
3 tablespoons rice wine vinegar
3 tablespoons rice wine
1 teaspoon white pepper
1 tablespoon cornstarch
1 teaspoon sweetener I used agave
salt to taste

DSC_5528.jpg

Saute onions, garlic and ginger. Add chestnuts, bamboo, lobster mushrooms.

DSC_5533.jpg

Add cornstarch then liquids.

DSC_5535.jpg

I served with rice noodles but rice would have been good too.

DSC_5537.jpg

I soaked the rice noodles in warm water but didn't let it soften too much. After adding it to a hot wok with oil, it will cook more.

DSC_5565.jpg

When you add the peas to the wok don't be fooled by how little time it takes to cook the peas. Just a few moments is enough as they will keep cooking. I like to maintain the crispiness of the peas, the color and the sweetness. Just warm them through then take them off the heat.

DSC_5546.jpg

There's a world of difference between overcooked peas in a pod and crispy sweet al dente peas.

DSC_5557.jpg

DSC_5559.jpg

Thanks for stopping by!

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
20 Comments
Ecency