Stone fruit pizza with cherries and peaches -Hive top chef

DSC_3969.jpg
I call this stone fruit pizza but my partner Marc calls it Stoner pizza. Some will know what I mean.

Stone fruits such as cherries and peaches which I've used for this pizza are really abundant around this time. I should be getting these fruits from our neighboring province, Ontario which has some of the best in the country. It seems that they are being imported from the US.

I chose to use frozen cherries since they are less expensive. I used a couple of fresh peaches.

Usually a fruit pizza is made with a cookie crust but I didn't want it to be that sweet and decadent. There was still a fair amount of sugar not to mention the natural sugar from the fruit.

For the pizza sauce, I boiled the cherries with 1 cup of maple syrup, 1 tablespoon vanilla, 3 tablespoons of lemon juice, pinch of salt, 3 tablespoons cane sugar. After boiling then simmering for around twenty minutes or more then mix around 4 tablespoons cornstarch with some of the juice or water mixing out the lumps. Add the mixture to the pot of cherries mixing thoroughly.

DSC_3853.jpg

I decided to make a pizza crust but I wouldn't hesitate to buy it ready made if I had less time.

This was a basic crust using all purpose flour, water oil yeast and sugar. I don't have a bottom element on my oven so I started the crust on the stove.

DSC_3901.jpg

When it was cooked I added the cherry sauce. This would be like the tomato pizza sauce for the regular pizza.

DSC_3905.jpg

I sliced the peaches thinly then placed them on top. It wasn't over at that point. Since my top element worked I put it under the grill for ten minutes. It was on the lower broil temperature.

DSC_3957.jpg

I made a cashew cream sweetened with dates by soaking cashews and blending with the soaked dates. To that I added 2 tablespoons nutritional yeast, which is a popular addition to vegan cheese.

DSC_3961.jpg

I thought I would add some crushed walnuts which turned out to be a good addition.

DSC_3965.jpg

This may be dessert but I have to admit, I was happy having this for lunch.

DSC_3971.jpg

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
26 Comments
Ecency