Mexican inspired bowtie pasta salad

DSC_6588.jpg
This week on Hive top chef the topic is pasta salad. This was perfect for me since I just got a pasta machine. The local kitchen store was out of them for a while but there it was the other day.

I have been making the occasional pasta by hand but I recently moved to an apartment with a smaller kitchen. I decided to reward myself with a machine which would make pasta making less messy. I don't have anything against store bought packaged pasta. In fact I quite like them. Homemade pasta is just different and offers a little bit of therapy as well.

DSC_6447.jpg

Usually I use half semolina flour and half all purpose. This time I went full semolina and I loved it.

I used around 2 cups semolina flour and around 1 cup water but I didn't really measure. I added a sprinkle of salt as well.

DSC_6453.jpg

I decided to put it in the food processor instead of the hand mixing method. I guess I was experimenting. I decided to add a little oil after the mixing. I also added a little more water until it formed a doughy springy texture.

DSC_6455.jpg

After taking the dough out, I kneaded for a good 15 minutes. After this it was nice and smooth. I covered it for around half an hour.

DSC_6457.jpg

I cut it into sections and rolled out enough to fit into the machine.

DSC_6463.jpg

After getting a nice thin, but not too thin sheet, I cut it into squares.

DSC_6471.jpg

Grabbing each square in the middle and squeezing, forms the bowtie shape.
DSC_6483.jpg

After forming them all I sprinkled a bit of semolina flour on them so they wouldn't stick. I am not a pro pasta maker but my instincts made it happen.

DSC_6487.jpg

They were put in salty boiling water until tender. These took longer than regular store bought pasta. I wanted them quite soft for a salad rather than al dente like hot pasta.

DSC_6504.jpg

The ingredients I chose were ones that may be used in Mexican cuisine. I say Mexican inspired though because I've never seen a pasta salad in Mexico. I have spent quite a while there and the only pasta I saw was a child's spaghetti with plain tomato sauce. I'm sure somewhere there is a pasta salad in Mexico.

Salad items
3 cobs sweet corn
1/2 cup red onion
2 small carrots diced
1 handful chopped cilatro
4 radishes
2 cups cherry tomatoes
1 bell pepper
2 hot chilies like jalapenos

DSC_6496.jpg

I would have loved to have charred the corn on fire, but that could not happen in my kitchen so I opted for pan roasting in olive oil. I added a sprinkle of salt and just cooked it until it was brighter in colour making sure it wasn't over cooked which can make it dry and tough.

DSC_6517.jpg

I chopped the veggies and decided on black beans. I opened a can that I had. I have dried black beans but I didn't soak them so I had to use canned.

DSC_6529.jpg

Dressing
Juice of 3 limes
1/4 cup olive oil
2 cloves garlic
2 tablespoons vegan mayo
1 tablespoon agave nectar
1/2 teaspoon oregano
1/2 teaspoon chili powder
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1/2 teaspoon thyme
1/4 teaspoon chipotle powder
Salt to taste

DSC_6531.jpg

Blend ingredients until smooth than taste and adjust the salt and seasonings.
DSC_6541.jpg

Mix ingredients together.

DSC_6551.jpg

Add some of the dressing and mix adding more after tasting if required.

DSC_6562.jpg

I added the tomatoes at the end since they're juicy and I didn't want to mix them too much.

DSC_6565.jpg

After everything was mixed, I let it sit for a while before serving, to let the flavors come together.

DSC_6571.jpg

I served it on a bed of Boston lettuce.

DSC_6595.jpg

I know that if this were made in Mexico there would be cheese all over it. I don't eat real cheese and often use a homemade vegan cheese but it really wasn't necessary. It's warm here right now so this was a refreshing salad which was filling because of the pasta.

DSC_6585.jpg

An extra squeeze of lime and some fresh avocado was a perfect accompaniment.

Thanks for dropping by and have a great day

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
22 Comments
Ecency