(ENG/ESP) A Little Self-Control: The Importance of Not Overdoing It / Un poco de autocontrol: La importancia de no excederse


ENGLISH CONTENT


Hello to all the members of this wonderful community! I have recently been in a new stage living alone and in this process, I have had to adapt my activities so that I can perform my day to day as well as possible. However, last night I had one of those experiences where I let myself get carried away with emotion, without thinking about what it could cause me. I was reviewing a new web page that I came across and I liked its content so much that I spent hours browsing it until it basically dawned. Despite the fact that I had considered going to bed early from now on, in order to comply with my whim, I deprived myself of valuable hours of sleep and how can you imagine, that caused me mental and visual exhaustion that I perceived the next morning. As my will to fulfill my duties is strong (and thank goodness, most of the time it is like that), I got up early without using the alarm, but my decision to have lost hours of sleep by dedicating it to the web page, It took its toll on a slight headache. Still sitting in bed, encouraging myself to get up to make breakfast, I thought about the importance of self-control. I decided not only to seriously reflect on this aspect and how to better implement it in my life, but also to share my thoughts about it, in case they could be useful to another user inside or outside the platform.


WhatsApp Image 2023-04-10 at 12.50.17 AM.jpeg


First of all, what is self-control? It is the power we have to keep our actions and/or thoughts at bay. It reads like something easy, don't you think? But, not for everyone it represents a simple task and even more so, if what we must have control over is something that we like very much, because only being "aware" of that something that we must control does not give us power over it. For example, sweets will always be considered one of the greatest temptations and although we know that in excess they are a source of cavities and empty calories that can harm us in the long run, many people are unable to overcome this desire not to eat them and end up falling to temptation In my case, I can say that I can control my sugar intake quite well, I have even been able to limit my coffee intake (I love coffee), to exclusively in the morning, when in the past, I could be drinking coffee all the time . So, "the object of temptation" could be considered as that which captures our attention or our desire (it can be food or activities) to the point of clouding the meaning and turning us away from what is beneficial for us. But is it possible to achieve efficient self-control?


WhatsApp Image 2023-04-10 at 1.39.02 AM.jpeg


I say yes, it is. Obviously, it takes willpower and learning to say No to ourselves. For this, once we know what it is that traps us to the point of blinding us (video games, even studies), we have to sit down and think about the following question: How beneficial is this for me? Through this question, we will be able to think about the pros and cons over which we have no control. If it is not a harmful activity, it is simply enough to establish an estimated time for that activity, to avoid turning it into a vice and in the case of meals, reduce the amounts in case we are consuming more than we should. I know it's not easy, but thinking coldly about what we do and want, we can do it.


WhatsApp Image 2023-04-10 at 2.18.59 AM.jpeg


For example, if we want to lose weight, instead of lamenting the amounts of delicious food that we will stop eating, it is good to eat a moderate amount of that food and instead, think about that ideal weight that we are getting closer to. In the case of video games, we can implement them as a "reward" after our daily work. Well, a few hours of gaming dedicated to relaxing the mind is healthier to play all day by inertia, without even really enjoying the game (unless you work with streaming video games and even then, there are hours to play and others to dedicate to other activities).


6597399e-ecc5-4208-9bae-f9cb32ba11c6.jpg


Although that also applies to our hours dedicated to work and study. As much as we want to be productive or achieve our goals, we cannot deprive ourselves of things as important as sleep or food. If we do not rest enough and our body is not well fed, we will not be able to carry out our activities because we will not have energy. From personal experience, I reached a point where I skipped lunch because I worked longer or didn't sleep because I studied more. In the long run, the body is the one that takes its toll and you will have to live with the consequences of it. Our body is the vehicle that will help us move along this path called life, try to manage it in moderation, avoid getting on the paved road (the one of excesses) and you will arrive without so many setbacks to your desired destinations.


87db4451-ba2e-49da-9e3f-7169abf7352b.jpg


Finally, I decided not to stop using the website as such, because I think it could be useful to improve my writing. But, I'll use it only when I've finished the most important things on my list and only if it doesn't conflict with my bedtime. Of course, with a limit of time of use in between. I know myself very well, I am not a machine and from time to time I can falter and have my obsessive attacks like the one last night, but once I focus and say to myself "this has to stop", I stabilize. That's what self-control is all about and with discipline, it can be had.


WhatsApp Image 2023-04-10 at 3.47.53 AM.jpeg


ACLARATION: The images used in this publication were made by me through the "Medibang Paint" and "Line Camera" apps.


Thank you very much for visiting my publication. I hope you found it interesting.


Until a next opportunity!


firma.jpg


FUkUE5bzkAZT3HzV5tJDiU2ik81PCd4JCyhWnRcDN8XJsVFY3UNB8DCcGwo2aPqERJtUyH1jgJUkwNavSB7ndURo1DZQYVqDkXwDJaKQxoKring9XzVDvJyAneajaMswjYZSmQVfbPxvM8m7QAi72mqetMzZEpNFhyzW.jpg


CONTENIDO EN ESPAÑOL


¡Hola a todos los integrantes de ésta maravillosa comunidad! Estoy desde hace poco en una nueva etapa viviendo sola y en ese proceso, he tenido que ir acoplando mis actividades de forma que pueda desempeñarme en mi día a día lo mejor posible. Sin embargo, anoche tuve una de esas experiencias en las que me dejé llevar por la emoción, sin pensar en lo que eso podría causarme. Estaba revisando una página web nueva que me encontré y su contenido me gustó tanto, que estuve por horas navegando en la misma hasta que básicamente amaneció. A pesar de que me había planteado acostarme temprano de ahora en adelante, para poder cumplir con mi capricho, me privé de valiosas horas de sueño y cómo se imaginarán, eso me generó un desgaste mental y visual que percibí a la mañana siguiente. Como mi voluntad de cumplir con mis deberes es fuerte (y menos mal, la mayoría del tiempo es así), me levanté temprano sin la utilización de la alarma, pero mi decisión de haberme restado horas de sueño por dedicárselo a la página web, me pasó factura en un ligero malestar de cabeza. Aún sentada en la cama, dándome ánimos de levantarme para prepararme el desayuno, pensé en la importancia del autocontrol. Decidí no sólo reflexionar seriamente en éste aspecto y de cómo implementarlo de mejor manera en mi vida, sino compartir mis pensamientos sobre ello, en el caso de que puedan serle útil a otro usuario dentro o fuera de la plataforma.


WhatsApp Image 2023-04-10 at 12.50.17 AM.jpeg


Primero que nada ¿Qué es el autocontrol? Es la facultad que tenemos de mantener a raya nuestras acciones y o pensamientos. Se lee como algo fácil ¿No les parece? Pero, no para todos representa una labor sencilla y más, si aquello sobre lo que se debe tener control, es algo que nos gusta mucho, porque sólo ser "conscientes" de ese algo que debemos controlar, no nos da poder sobre ello. Por ejemplo, los dulces siempre serán considerados de las mayores tentaciones y aunque sepamos que en exceso, son fuente de caries y de calorías vacías que a la larga, nos pueden hacer daño, muchas personas son incapaces de vencer ese deseo de no comerlos y acaban cayendo ante la tentación. En mi caso, puedo decir que puedo controlar mi consumo de azúcar bastante bien, incluso, he podido limitar mi ingesta de café (me encanta el café), a exclusivamente por las mañanas, cuando en el pasado, podía estar bebiendo café a cada momento. Entonces, "el objeto de tentación", podría considerarse como aquello que capta nuestra atención o nuestro deseo (puede ser comida o actividades) hasta el punto de nublar el sentido y apartarnos de lo que es beneficioso para nosotros. Pero ¿Es posible lograr un autocontrol eficiente?


WhatsApp Image 2023-04-10 at 1.39.02 AM.jpeg


Yo digo que si, lo es. Evidentemente, se necesita fuerza de voluntad y aprender a decirnos No a nosotros mismos. Para ello, una vez que sabemos qué es lo que nos atrapa hasta el punto de obcecarnos (videojuegos, incluso hasta los estudios), tenemos que sentarnos a pensar en la siguiente pregunta: ¿Qué tan beneficioso es esto para mí? a través de ésta pregunta, podremos pensar en los pro y los contras sobre lo que no tenemos control. Si no es una actividad dañina, simplemente basta con establecerle un tiempo estimado a esa actividad, para evitar volverla un vicio y en el caso de las comidas, reducir las cantidades en el caso de que estemos consumiendo más de lo que deberíamos. Sé que no es sencillo, pero pensando fríamente en lo que hacemos y queremos, podremos hacerlo.


WhatsApp Image 2023-04-10 at 2.18.59 AM.jpeg


Por ejemplo, si queremos perder peso, en lugar de lamentarnos por las cantidades de alimentos deliciosos que dejaremos de comer, es bueno comer una cantidad moderada de ese alimento y en su lugar, pensar en ese peso ideal al cual nos estamos acercando. En el caso de los videojuegos, podemos implementarlos como "premio" luego de nuestra jornada diaria. Pues es más sano unas horas de juego dedicadas al relajamiento de la mente a jugar todo el día por inercia, sin ni siquiera disfrutar el juego realmente (a menos que trabajases con streaming videojuegos y aún así, hay horas para jugar y otras para dedicárselas a otras actividades).


6597399e-ecc5-4208-9bae-f9cb32ba11c6.jpg


Aunque eso también aplica a nuestras horas destinadas al trabajo y al estudio. Por más que queramos ser productivos u obtener nuestros objetivos, no podemos privarnos de cosas tan importantes como el sueño o el alimento. Si no descansamos lo suficiente y nuestro organismo no está bien alimentado, no seremos capaces de desempeñar nuestras actividades porque no tendremos energía. Por experiencia personal, llegué a un punto de saltarme la comida por trabajar más tiempo o a no dormir por estudiar más. A la larga, el cuerpo es el que pasa factura y tendrás que vivir con as consecuencias de ello. Nuestro cuerpo es el vehículo que nos ayudará a movernos por éste camino llamado vida, trata de manejarlo con moderación, evita meterte en el camino empedrado (el de los excesos) y llegarás sin tantos contratiempos a tus ansiados destinos.


87db4451-ba2e-49da-9e3f-7169abf7352b.jpg


Para finalizar, decidí no dejar de usar la página web como tal, pues considero que me podría ser de utilidad para el mejoramiento de mi escritura. Pero, la utilizaré sólo cuando haya terminado las cosas más importantes de mi lista y sólo si no choca con mi hora de dormir. Por supuesto, con un límite de tiempo de uso de por medio. Me conozco muy bien, no soy una máquina y de vez en cuando puedo flaquear y tener mis ataques obsesivos como el de anoche, pero una vez que me centro y me digo "esto tiene que parar", me estabilizo. De eso se trata el autocontrol y con disciplina, se puede obtener.


WhatsApp Image 2023-04-10 at 3.47.53 AM.jpeg


ADVERTENCIA: Las imágenes usadas en ésta publicación fueron hechas por mi a través de las app "Medibang Paint" y "Line Camera".


Muchas gracias por haber visitado mi publicación. Espero que les haya parecido interesante.


¡Hasta una próxima oportunidad!


firma.jpg


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
18 Comments
Ecency