Indifference: To Love or To Not Love

IMAGE CREDIT IS MINE

There are several situations in which the universe has decided to position me and you, my reader, where the only thing we can do is either stay quiet or be very affirmative. I have had days where people approach me with funny ideas, and I can only nod vertically but still disagree.

Being indifferent is quite difficult; it is a state where you don’t know how to respond to something — the thin and confusing line between yes or no (aka sitting on the fence). A lot of times, people are indifferent because they are not sure. I had a funny experience with a lady.

source

Sometime ago (I intentionally did not state the exact year for privacy reasons), I got a project as a voiceover artist. I was meant to be at the studio to voice over 50 scripts. After the modification of scripts and all the back and forth, I was privileged to complete everything in 4 days. The first day at the studio, I met this beautiful young lady, and surprisingly, we got talking for close to 2 hours! I don’t talk that much to strangers, but when "we click" or something in you connects with me, that can happen! (Rebuke that thought about chemistry, lol!) Out of the 4 days, there was no day I didn’t get to converse with this damsel. She is so smart and intelligent, and she is also ready to learn "What a cutie!", I said to myself. Then, I was single, had a breakup about 6 months ago, and was gradually getting over it (don’t ask about my love life, smiles). But something changed the love and biology to something I couldn’t really define.

The recording project was a success, and the client loved it. I was invited to a major event organized by the client, and this lady was one of the big names at the said event. I believe in getting to know people, more like being their friends, before getting into anything romantic (hello, chemistry). During the 4 days, I was surprised at some things I discovered about this "cutie". She is very confident and thus expresses herself freely, even openly —a bit too much! It was due to this weakness that she publicly (for me, 5 is a crowd, lol!) declared her singleness, which reduced my enthusiasm to know her better. This happened on the 4th day, when all we had to do was cross the t’s on the project, and I wasn’t coming back anyway (unless there’s another project). So, I felt that was an excuse for her declaration (in reality, it might just be a coincidence! (While I'm busy feeling like Prince Charming!).What totally changed my love at first sight into indifference?

I was already developing feelings for this damsel, but the declaration I mentioned earlier didn’t go too well with my feelings. But much more, ‘something’ made me unsure of my "love" for this beauty. The event I earlier mentioned took place two weeks after the completion of the recording project. Of course, we’ve exchanged numbers, and we chat almost every day. Fast forward to the event day. I had some tasks assigned, which I delivered working alongside the lady (like I said earlier, she was one of the major organizers). I thought the media event would be done by 7 p.m. so I could get going, but it ran late until 9:30 p.m.Lo and behold, the angel (not the angel Gabriel, but the beautiful lady I mentioned earlier) approached me and asked if I would like to be her special guest overnight. She said it was all up to me to accept her "offer" or not. This messed me up big time because I never asked her out, I never had a "one night" idea in mind, I planned getting to know her, and all that. I didn’t show any surprise; I only appreciated her kind gesture and complimented her as being not only beautiful in looks but also in character (which is very true!). I didn’t know how to respond to this, so I never said yes or no to her offer! Although it was late, I was lucky enough to get a free ride home. I still look back and wonder if I truly missed an opportunity or not. What do you think?

source

Due to my compliment and free ride as an excuse, we never talked about her offer again. I actually left that night without saying goodbye. We still met, still chatted, but never got together as lovers. We actually don’t talk as much as before. However, the door is still open; do you think I should go ahead and re-ignite the "fire" or stay "beside the well" (lol!)? In case you don’t understand "beside the well," check this out .

Please leave your comments, thank you.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency