INDIFFERENCE // My father refused to congratulate me

There was no time I felt bad about myself than when I came home with my school terminal results and my dad kept saying I had performed very badly, I got third position in the results and he insisted that I should have been in the first or second position, I smiled on my way home, but dad made me shun all the smile on my face.

Image source

He didn't stay with me, he started his bike and headed to his farm, I went under the dinning table and took a seat, I think of the people who have taken eight or nine position, what would their family do to them, because I did my best, I didn't know why dad didn't care, after a few times, I went out to join my mates in playing football.

Michael, my friend encouraged me, he was watching the others play football, so he told his brother that I was the person who had taken the third position in the school, I found out that, Michael's brothers were happy for him, that makes me wish I had a brother who could congratulate me for the position, as dad could not see my effort.

Image source

Around 4pm, mum came back from her shop and gave me a good handshake for my position in the results, she was happy for me and that makes me feel good, mums sing so many songs and I thought dad could do the same, I wish he could see that I tried hard.

I went to the parlour to watch cartoons, while I was in the parlour, I was afraid that when daddy came back, he would not be happy with me, just like when he left home. As a first child, I didn't have a brother to share my worries with, I was young, a 14 year old boy, only mum understood me.

But that same night, dad came home and he was not like when he left, he loaded me with joy, he explained to me that i didn't know how happy he was, because I tried to be in the top three of the class, he gave me a pair of new sandals that he bought on his way back.

Image source

As a gift to show for the first time, I did well in the class. As a child, I was beginning to think that father didn't care about me, but he did, rather he was elated and decided not to show me his true self, it all exploded on his return home.

This affection and love that my parents show me, makes me feel very good in class activities, as before, I used to skip some lessons that I disliked, but because of this love, I stay away from anything that might try to prevent me from entering the class.

Caring for people may not be until we buy them the whole things in this world, but just for us to make them feel good on that ground that they are is enough.

Since the day I had this joke that my father used to congratulate me, like he does not care about my position in the result, even when he did it with joy, I do not judge people who claims that they do not care about me so fast, I will take time to examine the situation, if the person really means what he said before concluding.

Thank you for reading ♥️😊

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency