Indifference

Sometimes there are reactions we expect to see from certain individuals in response to a situation, but to our surprise, they may not care or may be nonchalant toward them. I've come to realize there are certain reasons that make one indifferent to circumstances, this could be age, the frequency of such events happening, how apathetic one is, or the subject being addressed. Not because one downplays its importance but because sometimes we believe change would take its course or that reacting doesn't change what has happened, but these reasons are not applicable to everyone, some persons are known for their carefree attitude.

My uncle who would have scolded a child who misbehaved at any slight opportunity now ignores their behavior as if it doesn't matter to him as he grows older. My Dad would bluntly ignore any meeting that involved him as the topic of discussion not minding if it affects him or not, and my grandma who's now frail would remain indifferent to certain play that children do unlike before when she'll yell and curse. Unlike my grandma and uncle whose indifference started to display in their old age, my dad actually had his from his root, he was known to put on an "I don't care" attitude to anything that involved him taking responsibility.

Photo Source

As much as people feel their show of indifference to certain situations could impact negatively on them or the next person, they have a philosophy about life that helps them counter that pressure. Personally, I believe that it's not the things that I do that counts but mercy from God, I could go ahead to act indifferent to something I should do, not because I can't do it but because of the philosophy I have that doing anything can't change what's predestined. Sometimes I'm made to believe indifference to situations could originate from one's root and philosophies he had set in life.

Indifference has both negative and positive effects. Negative when the consequences of our inaction affects our health or our duties in our working places and positive because it reduces one's chances of being under pressure. People who are indifferent are sometimes happier because they're not pressured by situations.

Can Indifference Be Managed?

I've thought about this for some time now. I truly wish my dad could change, I wish myself could start to feel concern about certain things in my life. My friend would complain that I don't care about so many things, ranging from how I dress to what I eat and that's true. Indifference is the opposite of empathy and emotion, if one could put himself in a position of another, I believe there would be some changes in him afterward. Indifference could be managed if one changes his ideology about certain things and that's by considering a subject from the point of view of another. Sometimes by counting the cost of his inaction or action. Indifference can be managed, time and change teaches us a lot of things. Time helps us know what matters and things we need to put energy into and change show us the consequences of our actions.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency