The Emotion– Surprise/Las Emociones – Sorpresa

I'd like to think that we are all acquainted with the saying, we learn from experience. Experience is the best teacher, like life, it gives us lessons through various test and triumphs.

Most times, as first timers, we fail to pass it. But that's the first time. We become wiser, more cautious and educated. We get to see things coming from miles away because we have experienced first hand the throes of it all.

As adults who live day to day lives, meeting different people from different backgrounds, we have to be open minded and learn to be taken by surprise. This person's personality defers from the other's due to inhibitions and moral standards.

I'm someone who's a student from experience and today, I want to use the opportunity of the theme of the month given by the EMOTIONS & FEELINGS community to talk about the SURPRISE(S) life came with.

In my childhood days, I always dreamed and planned my life. I had a book where I had a written number of age and beside that number is the expectation.

I had thought that at twenty-two, I'd be done with school and serve for a year. By twenty-four, I'd have a good paying job and at tweny-six, I'd have my own house, car, be financially stable and married too. Now, I'm just twenty-one so all this is still achievable but it doesn't throw away the fact that life took me by surprise.

I'm just twenty-one but I do know deep down that I work harder than most thirty year olds around me. I have made a lot of sacrifices at this stage of my life. I have to be calculative, deliberate and time conscious in all I do. No one told me this is what I'd have to go through. I was pleasantly and horribly surprised.

While my mates enjoy the pleasures of living carefree lives, eating from their parents pockets and not giving a damn about anything apart from their grades and next fix, I have a family to care for. Now, I can just say to hell with it and do whatever I like because, I'm still young, but I'll pay for it later.

Life's surprises didn't just stop at the fairy-tale part, it carried me along to show me that not all are bed & roses. I always had this belief that people are good. I was naive enough to trust and to love with all my heart. You can imagine my surprise when I realized that wasn't the case.

There are good people but not all are. I don't regret one bit the trust and love I handed out. I gave bits and pieces of myself to people and they either returned it completely smashed or badly burned. Like I wrote earlier, these are all part of experiences.

Ever heard the saying, Life takes us by surprise? Yeah. It's a rollercoaster apparently. You wake up to find out that the people closest to you are actually not for you. Later on, you meet an outsider who becomes that pillar. It's always the unexpected.

Life has surprised me in myriads of ways; from the simplest Hi to the most complicated No, I've always been surprised.

The thing is, no matter how much you prepare for it, you might actually not be prepared at all. You can not predict what life throws at you this moment or what it throws the next. You can only plan and learn acceptance. Acceptance doesn't mean you're being complacent or weak, it just means, it happened, it hurt and now, what's next?

What's next is to learn from it. When you learn, practice and when you practice, teach. That's what it's all about. You can never avoid Life's surprises or even dodge them. You can only plan ahead and learn to navigate through the rough roads.

SPANISH

Me gustaría pensar que todos conocemos el dicho, se aprende de la experiencia. La experiencia es el mejor maestro, como la vida, nos da lecciones a través de varias pruebas y triunfos.

La mayoría de las veces, al ser la primera vez, no la superamos. Pero esa es la primera vez. Nos volvemos más sabios, precavidos y educados. Llegamos a ver las cosas venir a kilómetros de distancia porque hemos experimentado de primera mano los sinsabores de todo ello.

Como adultos que vivimos el día a día, conociendo a gente diferente de diferentes orígenes, tenemos que tener la mente abierta y aprender a dejarnos llevar por la sorpresa. La personalidad de esta persona difiere de la de la otra debido a las inhibiciones y a las normas morales.

Soy una estudiante con experiencia y hoy quiero aprovechar la oportunidad del tema del mes dado por la comunidad de EMOTIONS & FEELINGS para hablar de las SORPRESAS que me ha dado la vida.

En mi infancia, siempre soñaba y planificaba mi vida. Tenía un libro donde tenía escrito un número de edad y al lado de ese número la expectativa.

Pensaba que a los veintidós años, terminaría la escuela y serviría durante un año. A los veinticuatro, tendría un buen trabajo remunerado y a los veintiséis, tendría mi propia casa, coche, sería económicamente estable y también estaría casado. Ahora, sólo tengo veintiún años, así que todo esto todavía es factible, pero eso no quita que la vida me haya cogido por sorpresa.

Sólo tengo veintiún años, pero en el fondo sé que trabajo más que la mayoría de los treintañeros que me rodean. He hecho muchos sacrificios en esta etapa de mi vida. Tengo que ser calculadora, deliberada y consciente del tiempo en todo lo que hago. Nadie me dijo que tendría que pasar por esto. Me sorprendió gratamente y horriblemente.

Mientras mis compañeros disfrutan de los placeres de llevar una vida despreocupada, comiendo del bolsillo de sus padres y sin que les importe nada más que sus notas y el próximo arreglo, yo tengo una familia que cuidar. Ahora, puedo decir al diablo y hacer lo que quiera porque, todavía soy joven, pero lo pagaré después.

Las sorpresas de la vida no se detuvieron en la parte del cuento de hadas, sino que me llevaron para mostrarme que no todo es cama y rosas. Siempre tuve la creencia de que la gente es buena. Era lo suficientemente ingenua como para confiar y amar con todo mi corazón. Puedes imaginar mi sorpresa cuando me di cuenta de que no era así.

Hay gente buena pero no todos lo son. No me arrepiento ni un poco de la confianza y el amor que entregué. Entregué trozos de mí a la gente y ellos me lo devolvieron completamente destrozado o muy quemado. Como he escrito antes, todo esto forma parte de las experiencias.

¿Has oído alguna vez el dicho "La vida nos coge por sorpresa"? Sí, al parecer es una montaña rusa. Te despiertas y descubres que las personas más cercanas a ti en realidad no son para ti. Más tarde, conoces a un extraño que se convierte en ese pilar. Siempre es lo inesperado.

La vida me ha sorprendido de mil maneras; desde el más simple Hola hasta el más complicado No, siempre me ha sorprendido.

La cuestión es que, por mucho que te prepares, puede que no estés preparado en absoluto. No puedes predecir lo que la vida te depara en este momento ni lo que te depara en el siguiente. Sólo puedes planificar y aprender a aceptar. La aceptación no significa que seas complaciente o débil, sólo significa que pasó, dolió y ahora, ¿qué sigue?

Lo siguiente es aprender de ello. Cuando aprendas, practica y cuando practiques, enseña. De eso se trata. Nunca puedes evitar las sorpresas de la vida, ni siquiera esquivarlas. Sólo puedes planificar con antelación y aprender a navegar por los caminos difíciles.

Source: Lead Image by Yuri Manei from Pexels

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency