2010 VE Series II Holden Commodore SV6 Sports Wagon

20210407_221356.jpg

Hi everyone and awesome stuff to see you join the #OCD community, it's great to have a place to talk things motors. I'm really enjoying the growing Hive community it's giving me the opportunity to meet more like minded people and share common interests.

I absolutely love cars! Unfortunately, I haven't ever been able to invest heavily into them because, well. I'm married.... I think that says enough.

holden-hq-kingswood-4.jpg

Source

My favourite all time car is the 1973 HQ Kingswood, just look at that arse! It's my favourite because it's the car my grandfather had when I was growing up. His was white though. I remember him tinkering away with it in the shed. The Pur of the 8cyl 308 Engine, the torque when we'd run around the block on a test drive.

holden-hq-kingswood-1896.jpg

I absolutely adored this car and he knew it. When he passed almost 20 years ago he left me his car with explicit instructions to look after it. Sadly my grandmother fell into financial hardship and my uncles didn't want to help her. The day I got the keys I held them tight, I was 17 years old and my grandmother handed them to me, said he wanted me to have the car.

But times were tough for her, she had no money and couldn't even afford the burial plot for my grand father. The car was only worth maybe $5 - $6 grand at the time. I handed the keys back to her and instructed her to sell it to covet the costs and so she'd have some money. She declined at the start and said she couldn't because of his will. But it was the only thing of value that could help.

She got $10,000 for the car as it was in immaculate condition, I vowed to buy another one or a run down one and fix it up. Back then a run down one still road worthy was only $2500. Fast forward to today and none are in my price range.

20210407_221308.jpg

I was at the shop the other day in my current beast which is what has inspired me to write this post. I've had a few cars that were decent always Holden (GM) except for one Ford but it gave me nothing but hell. My latest car is a 2010 Holden Commodore SV6 Sports Wagon. I love wagons for their bigger build extra boot space and the way the entire body flows.

Plus the sports wagons are the best way to keep my wife happy, plenty of boot space for the pram/shopping sportish look and raw power under the hood. Don't get me wrong this model is only a V6 3.6L and I would have loved the V8 version.... but wife.

What shouldn't be missed is that these specific models we designed for power but with a V6 fuel efficiency in mind. With direct fuel injection and upgrades this lil V6 3.6Liter engine delivers 210kW of power. It matches V8s in previous models.

20210407_221332.jpg

With 210kW at 6400 rpm this engine also delivers a 350 Nm of torque at 2900rpm. With leather steering wheel and sports model interior which also extends outside to a sports body kit with fog lights this beautiful beast is not to be misjudged.

I always find it funny when a younger driver in a older model V8 pulls up next to me wanting to rev engines then their confusion as a V6 is leaving them behind. 🤣

Screenshot_20210408-111144_Instagram.jpg

I used to have a better version of this car, a newer model the 2016 SV6 Z in a sedan. Unfortunately it was t-boned and written off. This car is now worth $30,000+ and it was a beautiful ride with all the modern technology the 2010 model doesn't have.

Reverse camera was great but again just a luxury item, I really enjoyed the sedan model with a lighter body it went a little faster and looked a little more beasty. But I've always preferred the wagons but my sedan was manual and I prefer the stick to an auto. When it was written off the insurance company only gave me $8000 well below the market price and I was devastated.

20210407_221255.jpg

I ended up downgrading to an older model and not the Z range mainly because wagons cost more than sedans and they're rarer harder to find. I was shattered it wasn't a manual but can't have everything. I was impressed with the older models features still and it had more included then newer model cheaper cars.

I paid $10,000 for it 4 years ago and the ks were pretty good too.

I was at the shops the other night and a bloke approached me about my car, asked about it and how it handled we got talking and he said it was in good condition. I replied yeah I have kids so it doesn't get much use, has a few bumps on the side from car parks but easily buffed out when I got the time.

He offered me $15,000 for it, I declined and said it wasn't for sale. I was amazed that he had offered me $15,000 for it which was $5000 more than I paid 4 years ago. I was curious though in what was happening. He went as high as $20,000 and he would pay cash which would provide me the opportunity to purchase a brand new car.

I declined and thanked him for his offer and returned home. When I got home I hit up car sites, not your standard car sales as they don't list the true value of cars other than what insurance companies value things for.

I found versions of my car, better condition selling for $25,000 + I called my wife over and said I would he buying a new car soon and covering mine up in the back yard where I'll spend the next few years doing it up, repairing it and bringing it back upto brand new condition.

She laughed and said that I had finally got a nice car, although all we had to do is wait.

The price increase is due to Holden shutting up shop in Australia and now building cars overseas and the big V6 and V8 engines won't be anymore. Option for 4cyl cars due to the cost of petrol.

My car is quickly becoming a classic.

I do have regrets though, I regret not buying the V8 model which is booming in price.

Time to retire this old chook, it will he another year before I start working on it as I'm currently building a house and that's where our finances are going.

But would you all be interested in the progress if I posted from time to time?

Hope you've enjoyed reading my blog and I can't wait to read more awesome car and engine related posts.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency