RE: RE: Are sports bars just an American thing?
You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are sports bars just an American thing?

RE: Are sports bars just an American thing?

What makes a sports bar? I would say you need a few things....

1.) TV's to show games, that's a no brainer. I wouldn't say you necessarily need 10 or more, I only have 7. Granted two are 75", 4 are 65" and one is 55". So not tiny. I couldn't really fit anymore anyway and there aren't usually more than 7 games on at once, so everyone gets to watch what they want.

2.) Food. Some are "bar food" some are "pub food", and then there's me...elevated bar food. All from scratch. Pretty rare for a sports bar, but def helps me differentiate myself from all the others. Just had a couple yesterday tell me they've been coming down here for 20 years and my wings are the best they've ever had. Pretty cool.

3.) The people. Regulars will make you survive. Gotta have em. If ya don't, you're doing something wrong.

Other than that, it's up to you. We have beer on tap now where before we didn't, but it's tough to do down here vs. up north. Atmosphere is really up to you as well, what kind of sports bar you want? I went a little more up scale, less sports memorabilia all over, cleaner, etc.

There are def a few sports bars down here in my area. 5 within a mile of mine. But we all get by pretty well.

And no, not born in MX. Not sure what I would be doing if that were the case, lol.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now