Jumping spider macrophotography

It's interesting when a new hobby brings back to life an old one. I used to do a lot of photography when I was in London but since my move to Australia, I've put that hobby aside and started other thing.

Recently, I was interested in keeping jumping spiders as pet and because they are so tiny I need to use macro lenses to take photos of them. Despite the new iPhone 13 pro doing great job at general and macrophotography, the image quality when view at 100% on a large desktop screen does not match the image quality from a proper camera with a macro lens.

So today, after clearing up the basement and garage space for the flood repairs that are starting tomorrow, I took out my old Nikon D300 and the Nikkor Micro 105mm lens and a product photography lightbox out and invited My Lady Servaea villosa for a photoshoot. It's been a while since she got out of her enclosure so she was a bit confused at first but after running around on my hand and arm for few minutes, she finally settle down and posed for some mugshots.

Summary of equipments used:

  • Nikon D300 DSLR camera
  • Nikon AF-S VR 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED lens
  • Nikon SB-900 Flashgun
  • Phottix Odin TTL Wireless Flash Trigger for Nikon
  • Unbranded home studio lightbox

Jumping Spider - Servaea Villosa-01.jpg

Jumping Spider - Servaea Villosa-02.jpg

Jumping Spider - Servaea Villosa-05.jpg

Jumping Spider - Servaea Villosa-07.jpg

Jumping Spider - Servaea Villosa-09.jpg

Jumping Spider - Servaea Villosa-10.jpg

Jumping Spider - Servaea Villosa-11.jpg

Jumping Spider - Servaea Villosa-12.jpg

Jumping Spider - Servaea Villosa-13.jpg

Jumping Spider - Servaea Villosa-15.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
52 Comments
Ecency