With butterflies

IMG_7428.JPG

This is my story with butterflies. A story that will continue. In fact this is also part of the previous story! That's because when I bump into a butterfly in front of me, and it immediately flies off to another place, I won't be able to avoid the sensation of that butterfly while the camera is in my hand. Tom & Jerry's going to be a while, I mean, I keep trying to get closer and it keeps flying, moving away and slipping. It will be a while until I get the photo or I give up. Such things happen frequently, except under certain conditions, and are likely to continue. This is what makes stories like this one continue at another time. From there, I can observe some things that can become experiences for me.

The current story starts on January 17th, meaning that it has been a month ago. Since that date, there have been a number of butterfly specimens that I have come across. Some of them are very familiar to me, and some others, it's the first time I've seen it or it's the first time I can photograph it.

Well .. I will start my story with the first specimen I found with unusual conditions. This pollinator is the first time I saw it and the first time I also photographed it, and it is only one until now.

IMG_3934.JPG

It was a butterfly that fell in its flight maneuver by the wind. Is there something this butterfly is doing wrong with predicting and managing wind? Absolutely not! I've never seen or knew butterflies fall victim to the wind. On the other hand, in my observation, butterflies understand very well about the wind. The cause of the accident was the wind that was caused by something unnatural. This happened on the highway where the roadside grew a big tree. I saw this butterfly flying high near the tall branches of the tree. Suddenly a large truck passed by creating a wind that shook off the tall branches. One branch hit this butterfly directly, and it immediately fell onto the road. But it's clever! It immediately tugged its body to the side of the grassy road with some effort, but quite quickly. I who passed it, immediately stopped and approached it. I thought it was a lot of pain, but nothing looked broken or damaged. I then held out my finger. I act like a friend, but behind that actually I also want to benefit from taking pictures (friends with benefits 😁). Turns out, it likes my hand. Are there any nutrients in my skin that can be used for healing?😜 But it didn't poke anything off my skin. It's just trying to move. Perhaps, it wanted to immediately recover its strength. Just a few minutes later, I saw it was standing up, and it took only a few seconds later, it was able to fly back into the bushes even if it was only flying low. I was happy, first, because it got better, and second, because I got the pictures. It is the Ornithoptera euphorion or Cairns birdwing. According to Wikipedia, it is endemic to northeastern Australia, and is the largest endemic butterfly species there. But okay, this is a specimen that was found in Aceh Province, to be precise, Aceh Besar. And if it is said that it is attracted to the flowers of Lantana, Hibiscus and Bougainvillea, then all kinds of flower plants can be found easily here.

IMG_3936.JPG

IMG_3958.JPG

IMG_3965.JPG

IMG_3970.JPG

IMG_3974.JPG

IMG_3975.JPG


The next time, still in January, I shot some plain tigers, which according to my experience, they are the butterflies that I see the most, but I never saw them in my village environment which was lush with various trees (almost like a forest). The plain tiger or Danaus chrysippus is frequently seen, and sometimes in considerable numbers, in areas near rivers or beaches. It likes open and dry areas, but nevertheless rarely have I seen it in hilly areas which have bushes and meadows. I shot this plain tiger butterfly on a beach where a small pine forest grows, but they really don't like covered areas. I did not find them in that small pine forest, but instead they were on the outer edge of the pine tree forest. One other time after that, I also shot them while among the cacti growing by the sea, also in a very open area.

IMG_5634.JPG

IMG_5636.JPG

IMG_5658.JPG

IMG_5661.JPG

IMG_6758.JPG

IMG_6763.JPG

IMG_6771.JPG


The following is a new one I took for the first time. It had brown wings that were exquisite when it opened its wings to be warmed by the sun. I haven't been able to identify this species yet, but I'm guessing it's a member of the Lycaenidae family or gossamer-winged butterflies. Unlike plain tigers, these are found only in dense gardens with trees.

IMG_6001.JPG

IMG_6008.JPG


Another one that often flies around my village which is lush with trees is Delias hyparete or painted Jezebel, which is very beautiful with its colors.

IMG_6098.JPG

IMG_6101.JPG


The following is what I previously thought was white admiral or Limenitis camilla. As it turned out, that was very wrong. @akukamaruzzaman has identified very precisely that it is a Neptic pryeri. Here, I'm referring to his post: Neptic Pryeri Butterfly by @akukamaruzzaman. I really thank him for that.

IMG_6235.JPG

IMG_6236.JPG


Then this one is what I often see in hilly areas where there are open grasslands. It is very fond of basking in the grass when the sun is very bright in the mornings and afternoons, with its wings fully open. I always had to spend some time getting it, and the work often failed. It likes sliding to and fro. I got these pictures after I was almost exhausted in the twilight. It's Blue Pansy or Junonia orithya, which next time I'll catch up behind it again.

IMG_6424.JPG

IMG_6427.JPG

IMG_6434.JPG


Next is the blue tiger, Tirumala limniace, which I found in the same area where I saw Blue Pansy. But they were both there not because they were both blue. Blue Tiger is also recorded in my memory as a butterfly that I often encounter.

IMG_6555.JPG

IMG_6563.JPG


And here comes the gorgeous Graphium agamemnon, or tailed green jay. Tropical butterflies in the swallowtail family. These often roam the neighborhood of my village, often perching in the wet or muddy yard.

IMG_7430.JPG


IMG_7434.JPG

Unfortunately, this one I can only shoot once. It then immediately flew off, and disappeared from my sight. I think this is also one of the species of Lycaenidae or gossamer-winged butterflies.


Then, the big butterfly that I thought was a species in Lycaenidae in a dense garden in my village. This is the first time I can photograph a butterfly whose wings when closed look like the sail of the ship.

IMG_7512.JPG

IMG_7514.JPG

IMG_7517.JPG

IMG_7488.JPG

IMG_8331.JPG

IMG_8334.JPG


A Papilio polytes (Common Mormon) also flies around it.

IMG_8278.JPG

IMG_8282.JPG


And lastly, some from the old world of butterflies, the Ypthima species.

IMG_7537.JPG

IMG_7581.JPG

IMG_8320.JPG


Thank you for being with me in this story. 🙂

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency