Froghopper | Cercopis Vulnerata ... some Macro Photos

During lockdown we have been allowed to do sports and go for walks. I have taken these photos on a morning walk in May this year.

Froghopper
Cercopis Vulnerata
Froghopper  - Cercopis Vulnerata

The Cercopis vulnerata or Froghopper belongs to the family of Cercopidae. You might know this little cicada as black-and-red froghopper or red-and-black froghopper. In German it is called "Blutzikade" what means "blood cicada" in English.

Froghopper - Cercopis Vulnerata
❖ please click for fullsize view ❖
Froghopper - Cercopis Vulnerata
❖ please click for fullsize view ❖

I have cropped each of the original images to show the Froghopper larger. If you click on the link below the images a new tab or window should open, showing the photo in a larger size.

Froghopper - Cercopis Vulnerata
❖ please click for fullsize view ❖
Froghopper - Cercopis Vulnerata
❖ please click for fullsize view ❖

On this morning I have seen three of these nice looking little guys in the grass beside my path, but I have taken close-up photos of only two of them, because the third one has been hidden too deep in the grass, as you can see in the last image.

Froghopper - Cercopis Vulnerata
❖ please click for fullsize view ❖

I don't know if the droplet behind the Froghopper is a dew drop or something else 😉

Froghopper - Cercopis Vulnerata
❖ please click for fullsize view ❖
Froghopper - Cercopis Vulnerata
❖ please click for fullsize view ❖

Still sleeping and I can see another dew drop behind ;)
Froghopper - Cercopis Vulnerata
❖ please click for fullsize view ❖

As most times when I go for a walk it was quite early in the morning, so I had to use the magical power of Lightroom to make the photos a little bit brighter than it actually was 😉 and I hope they are not still too dark.

This kind of Froghoppers lives in most of Europe, but during my research I have found similar looking but different called relatives of them, like the Cercopis sanguinolenta which can also be found in the near east.

Froghopper - Cercopis Vulnerata
❖ please click for fullsize view ❖
Froghopper - Cercopis Vulnerata
❖ please click for fullsize view ❖

This is the more hidden Froghopper and I didn't want to disturb it, so I took only this photo where you can see it between the plants.

Froghopper - Cercopis Vulnerata
❖ please click for fullsize view ❖

Well, that was all for today. I think tomorrow evening I'll post my hunting trophies for the final of the #AlphabetHunt challenge in the Feel Good Community and hope that I can complete my XYZ words till then 😉


Information

Location / Standort: Drau Reservoir Ferlach
Froghopper - Cercopis Vulnerata - Wikipedia

All photos in this post were shot hand held with the Canon EOS R and the SIGMA 105mm 1:2,8 DG MACRO HSM lens. Settings in all photos: 1/200 sec | f/5.6 | ISO 100.

I leave all EXIF and IPTC information stored in the pictures.


If you like my work I would appreciate an upvote, nice comment or maybe you want to share my post on your blog 😊 ... and maybe you would like to follow me, so that you never miss a post from me.

Thank you so much for visiting my blog,
have a nice evening,
Johann Piber @johannpiber
Photos and Text: @johannpiber | Johann Piber | All rights reserved - do not use without my permission

create hive blockchain account

Not got a Hive account yet? Sign up free here!

2020-10-21
#hive5 from Austria 🖐️
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
96 Comments
Ecency