Fascinating Visitors Out the Yard

Magandang Buhay, fellow Hivers! I hope you are feeling fabulous and doing very well...

I found some interesting insects on my file and I'd like to share about them today.


Ophiusa Tirhaca or the Green Drab

Photographed on 02.02.22



A fascinating find out the yard last month near the storage is a moth that is commonly found in southern Europe, Africa, Australia and the southern parts of Asia, per Wikipedia.

It's wingspan is almost 2 inches wide.



This is the second time I encountered this kind of moth in our area. The first was last year on the 23rd of September.

Unedited portrait photo, 23.09.21



Photographed on 23.09.21



These below were taken last month. Its legs are seen this time, unlike my first encounter where I was only able to take photos of its back side and wings. I was fascinated with the feather-like hair on its head.

Ophiusa Tirhaca (02 Feb 2022)



The larva looks like this (below) per my research results. I don't think I've personally seen it before and if I did, I probably would have identified it as a worm. But now I know better :)

Screencaptured from Pyrgus.De/La Gomera (No copyright infringement intended.)


Fall Webworm Moth, 23 October 2021


Found this resting by the wooden chair outside last year. Just look at those comb-like antennae! Although I wanted to see its body, I was respectful so I didn't touch it, lol! It is said that they are native to North America but somehow found their way into other countries, including ours and one even landed into our yard :)



What's even fascinating is the larval stage. It's really hairy! Apparently, they create webbed nests on tree limbs or leaves that is why sometimes they are considered pests although they don't harm healthy trees according to Wiki. Post larval stage, they look beautiful and harmless.

Screen captured from Wiki Commons* free to use courtesy of Alison Hunter/No copyright infringement intended


Aegosoma Scabrecorne, 02 May 2021

Female long-horned beetle, my own capture



Found this one enjoying the comfort of a rag cloth outside the house. It is a female long-horned beetle based on its shorter antennae. Apparently, "males have longer antennae reaching the extremities of their bodies." per Wikipedia.

Interestingly, it's larva look like this (below photo) and they live in the trunk of old trees.

Screen captured from WikiCommons, free for use courtesy of Rasbak.


'Thick' Beetle, 25 March 2021

I don't know the specific name for this black beauty, but I am sure it's a type of a beetle. Google Lens identified it as a weevil, but I believe it isn't because weevils are way too small, this one's size is many times larger.

What caught my eyes was the design of its legs or should I say feet. They looked like hoofs with an extension. It was moving in haste but glad it must have sensed me so it stopped and I was able to get this decent photo.

Thick, shiny beetle - my own capture, 25.03.21



These may have landed in our place probably because we have trees and plants around where they can hide, feed, play and coexist too. Of course, I wouldn't wish to see their larvae inside the house, 'coz I'd definitely freak out, lol!

Nature is indeed magical. I still cannot imagine how those larvae become beautiful moths. It makes me wish we could install some video devices where they live so we can watch the transformation :)

Please feel free to correct me, I may have identified or labeled them incorrectly.


Thank you and have a wonderful weekend!

Photos are mine, except for the 3 screenshots as acknowledged above. No copyright infringement intended. 200322/12:05PH



FarmGirl writes from their little kingdom in the mountains of PHL.
She muses mostly about life, adventure/travel, nature, food, coffee, gardening and others.
You can also find her on Read -o- Noise -o- Torum -o- Twitter

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency