A Closer Look - Pale Tussock

Hello, everyone!

It's Monday in my side of the world, and it's a very bright one too. The recent rains in the past two days were welcoming after the scorching sun enjoyed most of the first weeks of March. Well, it's summer after all!

The husband was trimming the guava tree out the yard two days ago when he called me out saying I need to take my phone with me. And because I am that curious lil wife who obeys, I went out with my phone in hand.

Coming out of the house, I walked toward the shaded area by the storage. Lo and behold, I was presented by the husband with this beautiful caterpillar crawling on the ground!



Although I am a scaredy cat when it comes to insects, anthropods and stuff, I couldn't help but take photographs. It is simply beautiful and I was awed and fascinated at its body, colors, details, and everything about it.




Here's a closer look at its head, hairs and its four beautiful tufts of golden yellow hairs. Oh my, those hairs could sting!



We just let it do its thing around and then it rained. It kept on crawling so I was scared it might get into to house. Using the garden knife, we moved it farther until it reached the wet ground. Thankfully, the rain stopped so it probably crawled away from there.



This morning as I was trying to research about its name, Google Lens identified it as a "Pale Tussock" or "Calliteara Pudibunda." Reading further, I learned that it is a moth of the Family Erebidae and it is found in Asia and in Europe. (Source: Wikipedia)

Looking at the moth photos, I remembered seeing a similar one around our yard some days ago so I went out hoping I could still find one. And guess what? Yes, lucky me for I have found one resting just close to where we found the caterpillar and here it is!



Wanting to take a closer look, I slowly let it crawl on the garden knife. And look at that! Ain't he beautiful? Gorgeous pair of orange antennae too!



And as I was admiring its amazing details, it moved and fell to the ground. Then it flapped its wings incessantly which got me scared for a moment but still watched it closely.



After flapping its wings, it flew to a mere distance of 2 meters from where it was then it rested there. I realized it was preparing for a flight when it flapped its wings tirelessly for almost a minute.

The legs have beautiful white furs in them, and so as under its wings and its rear too!



Zooming in, here are its fascinating details. I am just wowed at how the little yellow-green, stingy larvae turns out to be one like this beautiful moth!



I must admit that although we see different moths around our yard every now and then, I have no knowledge about them but this may as well be the beginning of my adventure to learning more, especially that we have this wonderful space here in the Hive where we can share about our findings.


Thank you and I wish you a wonderful new week!

All photos are my own. Some edited via PolishApp. 140322/12:05PH



FarmGirl writes from their little kingdom in the mountains of PHL.
She muses mostly about life, adventure/travel, nature, food, coffee, gardening and others.
You can also find her on Read -o- Noise -o- Torum -o- Twitter

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
20 Comments
Ecency