Cuban Cockroach or Green Cockroach, A Strange but Flamboyant Cockroach [EN] //Cucaracha Cubana o Cucaracha Verde, Una Extraña pero Llamativa Cucaracha [ES]

Yesterday I was visiting my aunt's house since she had a small accident, after talking with her for a while in the room, we decided to sit for a while on the porch of the house, just when I decided to sit on the hammock they have there, I noticed a green insect, which at first appeared to be a cockroach, however, I had my doubts, because in my life I had never seen a cockroach of this color, so I set out to take some pictures to review in my iSeek application, which insect was it.



After taking the pictures, I shook the hammock a little and it flew away, and I said to myself, "If it's a cockroach and it flies, it'll give me something! I immediately checked iSeek, and it is indeed a cockroach, but not just any cockroach, it is a Cuban cockroach or Green Cockroach, unfortunately, the photographs were not of good quality, however, I could not stop sharing them, because for me it is an insect besides being fascinating, strange, since they are native to Cuba, and part of the United States.



It is common to see it in banana or plantain plantations, which is strange because we don't have this type of plant nearby, however, I think this one must have come from a pile of leaves from the mango tree that was recently pruned at my aunt's house. These cockroaches in their nymph stage with black or dark brown, and turn this very bright green when they reach their adult stage, that is, they are already in their sexual maturity so it is likely that they will be seen more around the area.



A fact that I have just learned about cockroaches is that they are capable of reproducing without the need for copulation, that is, the female can "clone" herself without requiring a male to fertilize her eggs. This is undoubtedly one of the reasons why they reproduce so easily. On the other hand, this Cuban cockroach, has an adult period that can last about 150 days (5 months approximately), a gestation period of 60 days (2 months approximately), in which, their eggs are gestated inside the cockroach and can have about 28 nymphs, so it is not so common to see these, like the cockroaches that we commonly see in the houses. This is without a doubt a very striking cockroach.



Images of my property, taken with the camera of my Xiaomi Redmi Note 9S Edited with Snapseed .

Thank you for taking the time to read this publication, if you have any questions, criticisms or suggestions, I would appreciate it if you put them in the comment box, and remember, you too can make magic in the kitchen wherever you go!

[ES]



Ayer estuve de visita en casa de mi tía ya que tuvo un pequeño accidente, luego de conversar un rato con ella en la habitación, nos decidimos a sentarnos un rato en el porche de la casa, justo cuando me decidía sentarme en la hamaca que tienen allí, me percate de un insecto verde, que de entrada me pareció una cucaracha, sin embargo, tenía mis dudas, pues en mi vida nunca había visto una cucaracha de este color, por lo que me dispuse a tomarle algunas fotografías para revisar en mi aplicación iSeek, de que insecto se trataba.



Luego de tomarle las fotografías, agité un poco la hamaca y esta salió volando, y me dije ¡Si es una cucaracha y vuela, además, me dará algo! Inmediatamente revise iSeek, y en efecto es una cucaracha, pero no cualquier cucaracha, es una Cucaracha Cubana o Cucaracha Verde , lamentablemente las fotografías no fueron de buena calidad, sin embargo, no podía dejar de compartirlas, pues para mi es un insecto además de fascinante, extraño, ya que son oriundas de Cuba, y parte de los Estados Unidos.



Es común verla en plantaciones de bananas o plátanos, lo cual es extraño, porque acá cerca no tenemos este tipo de plantas, sin embargo, creo que esta debe haber salido de un montón de hojas del árbol de mangos que recientemente podaron en la casa de mi tía. Estas cucarachas en su etapa de ninfas con negras o marrón oscuro, y se tornan de este verde muy brillante cuando alcanza su etapa adulta, es decir, está ya se encuentra en su madurez sexual por lo que es probable que se vean más por la zona.



Un dato que recién acabo de aprender sobre las cucarachas, es que son capaces de reproducirse sin necesidad de una copula, es decir, la hembra puede "clonarse" sin requerir de un macho que fecunde sus huevos. Esta es sin duda una de las razones por las que se reproducen tan fácilmente. Por otro lado, esta cucaracha cubana, tiene un periodo adulto que puede durar unos 150 días (5 meses aproximadamente), un periodo de gestación de 60 días (2 meses aproximadamente), en el cual, sus huevos son gestados dentro de la cucaracha, y puede tener unas 28 ninfas, por lo que no es tan común ver estas, como las cucarachas que comúnmente vemos en las casas. Esta es sin duda una cucaracha bastante llamativa.



Imágenes de mi propiedad, tomadas con la cámara de mi Xiaomi Redmi Note 9S Editadas con Snapseed .

Gracias por tomarse el tiempo de leer esta publicación, si tiene alguna pregunta, crítica o sugerencia, la agradecería que la pusiera en la caja de comentarios, y recuerda, ¡Tú también puedes hacer magia en la cocina ya dondequiera que vayas!


Created by @robinsonlgil


















@SM-Spanish Community Discord )




Come and support @Cervantes as Witness in https://peakd.com/me/witnesses



Come and supports @Aggroed as Witness in https://peakd.com/me/witnesses

@Repollo Discord
@Templo Discord
https://steemitimages.com/640x0/https://ipfs.busy.org/ipfs/QmNmqVvqjT9vUukyqi1PWVvceFNA32BUqpMj1kME7PdSib @upmewhale Discord
@Steemmonsters Discord


Join @gems-community's Discord





A proud member of











Created by @derangedvisions

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency