Another day near the lavender bush.

bumblebee lavender garden 3.jpg

There is something so calm and relaxing watchin those little creatures work.

I like work; it fascinates me.
I can sit and look at it for hours.
Jerome K. Jerome

And so I sat there near the bush, about 50 cm away from them and was just shooting. They were so focused on their task that did not even get scared when I got up.

Most people would think that bees and bumblebees are mean and dangerous and would just wait to sting you. I would only think this way about wasps and hornets and with those I am careful. But bees and bumblebees are so patient and friendly that there is nothing to worry about. If you do not try to scare them or annoy by poking a flower, they will not pay any attention to you. They are too busy collecting food. They are on a mission!

bumblebee lavender garden 1.jpg

The bumblebees that were visiting this lavender bush were the most adorable. Big, furry and relatively slow. The part of the garden is very quiet, away from the street and houses so they had peace and quiet (expect me staring at them of course.)

bumblebee lavender garden.jpg

There were few types of bees showing as well. I believe that those grey ones are Miners bees. They are more furry, smaller and faster than the regular brown in colour honey bees.

bee lavender garden 1.jpg

bee lavender garden 2.jpg

bee lavender garden 3.jpg

bee lavender garden 4.jpg

And there is no problem in sharing. On sunny days I was able to count the few types of bees, bumblebees, hoverflies, few types of butterflies and a moth.
Here with a Painted Lady butterfly.

painted lady bumblebee lavender garden.jpg

painted lady lavender garden.jpg

lavender flowers garden.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.

separator flowers.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency