"Cooking Memories": The Terminal Redfish Contest / "Cocinando recuerdos": El concurso de la gallineta de la terminal

When I saw that wesphilbin had created a contest for the redfish from The Terminal, I knew I should enter because I love this type of post, but I hadn't because I wanted to make something of value for the contest. It turns out that on Saturday I went to my grandmother's house to visit family. My uncle, aunt, mom and grandmother live there. I had in mind to make something special, but I was thinking for a while what to cook and I couldn't think of anything; then I asked my mom what were the first recipes she taught me to cook and she told me, beans, rice, pizza and lasagna.

Beans with rice is something that is eaten in my country almost every day, so I thought of making pizzas so we could all eat something different. So I went out to buy the ingredients and.... Let's get to work! Just look how one of the pizzas I made turned out....

My mother is an excellent cook. She took many courses where she learned pastry and baking. She taught me how to cook many things, one of the first being, as I mentioned, pizza. The ingredients to prepare a pizza are simple:

*Flour
*Yeast
*Salt
*Sugar
*Tomatoes
*Paprika
*Cheese

I only added cheese to this recipe, because my aunt can't eat any kind of sausage, but since pizza without cheese is not pizza, this one only has cheese. The simplest pizza there can be....

Well, the first thing to do in any recipe that involves yeast, is to check that it is in good condition; that is, to check that it will work once we add it to the dough. For this I used a glass beaker with lukewarm water, not cold or hot, lukewarm.

To this glass of water add a spoonful of wheat flour and sugar, then dissolve the two ingredients in the water and add the yeast.

After dissolving the yeast, we let it rest for about thirty minutes and then the magic happens. In the photo below you can see the before and after of our mixture of flour, sugar and yeast.

As I said before, this pizza has only tomato, paprika and cheese.

In addition to other ingredients that many of us have in our homes, such as salt, sugar and oregano.

There are different ways to prepare pizza sauce. My mom taught me to blend the tomatoes with a little cilantro. Then you add salt, sugar and oregano to taste. All of this is then cooked until reduced, but I forgot to take pictures of the cooked sauce....

Time to prepare the dough!

This is much simpler, remember the glass cup with our mixture of water, flour, sugar and yeast? Well, first we distribute the flour in a wide container, leaving a hole in the middle of the dough.

We add our magic yeast mixture...

Sugar...

A little salt...

Mix all the ingredients a little...

Then we knead with our hands, like a beast, until the dough is uniform and does not stick to our hands, as it did to me:

You have to knead the dough for 10 minutes, yes, 10 minutes. Pay attention, it could be that your favorite TV show/streaming is starting, it could be that you get a notification that OCD (or some other whale) has voted your post 100%, it could be starting the apocalypse! But no matter what happens, you should keep kneading until the 10 minutes is up. It should be nice and smooth and even (I couldn't take pictures here either...)

The cats came to see what I was doing....

Once our dough is ready, we cut it into several parts and let it rest.

I cut the paprika into julienne strips, or rather my aunt cut it, I'm not going to lie, she did it while I was preparing the dough. These are the ingredients with which we will garnish the pizza:

Our dough bun we rolled it out and then placed it on our mmmm...the thing where our pizza will be cooked. It was kind of impromptu this whole thing, so I used a small tortera, an old skillet and pan lids to cook the pizzas in the oven.

Time to put it all together! Just add the sauce, dried oregano, cheese and paprika as garnish for our pizza.

And that's how our uncooked pizzas turned out. They came out five because the yeast made the dough rise more than expected.

After 10 minutes of waiting in the oven, our pizzas were ready to be devoured by the family! None of them wanted to take pictures, but they did enjoy the delicious pizzas I prepared for them.

I even took the liberty of adding a strip of cheese to the edge of the pizza. If it's going to be done, let it be done well, as it should be... It makes you eat the screen just by looking at it, yes or no?

I read in the contest publication about the twist... to show a memory linked to my recipe, well, what can I say. The simple fact that my mother taught me these things is already a nice memory, because thanks to those good teachings from my mother, now I can indulge myself in cooking for her and the other members of the family, to give them back a little of what they so lovingly gave me when I lived with them.

A simple pizza recipe, which I learned to make thanks to my mother...


Well friends, that's all for now. I hope you liked my post and that it awakens certain desires in you to prepare your own homemade pizzas hahaha. I'll say goodbye then...

See you next time!



*****Versión en Español*****

Cuando vi que wesphilbin había creado un concurso para las redfish de The Terminal, sabía que debía participar porque me encantan este tipo post, pero no lo había hecho porque quería hacer algo de valor para el concurso. Resulta que el sábado fui a casa de mi abuela a visitar a la familia. Allí vive mi tío, mi tía, mi mamá y mi abuela. Tenía presente hacer algo especial, pero estuve un rato pensando qué cocinar y no se me ocurrió nada; entonces le pregunté a mi madre cuales fueron las primeras recetas que me enseñó a cocinar y me dijo, frijoles, arroz, pizza y lasagna.

Frijoles con arroz es algo que se come en mi país casi a diario, por eso se me ocurrió hacer pizzas para que todos comiésemos algo distinto. Así que salí a comprar los ingredientes y... ¡manos a la obra! Solo miren cómo me quedó una de las que hice...

Mi madre es una excelente cocinera. Hizo muchos cursos donde aprendió pastelería y panadería. Me enseñó a cocinar muchas cosas, siendo una de las primeras, como ya mencioné, la pizza. Los ingredientes para preparar una pizza son simples:

*Harina
*Levadura
*Sal
*Azucar
*Tomates
*Pimenton
*Queso

A esta receta solo le agregué queso, porque mi tía no puede comer ningún tipo de embutido, pero como pizza sin queso no es pizza, esta solo lleva queso. La pizza más sencilla que puede haber...

Bien, lo primero que hay que hacer en toda receta que involucra levadura, es comprobar que está en buen estado; es decir, comprobar que va a funcionar una vez que la agreguemos a la masa. Para ello usé un vaso de vidrio con agua tibia, no fría ni caliente, tibia.

A este vaso con agua agregamos una cucharada de harina de trigo y azúcar, luego se disuelven los dos ingredientes en el agua y entonces se agrega la levadura.

Tras disolver la levadura, la dejamos reposar por unos treinta minutos y ahí sucederá la magia. En la foto a continuación se aprecia el antes y después de nuestra mezcla de harina, azúcar y levadura.

Como dije anteriormente, esta pizza lleva solamente tomate, pimentón y queso.

Además de otros ingredientes que muchos tenemos en nuestros hogares, como sal, azúcar y orégano.

Hay distintas formas de preparar la salsa para la pizza. Mi mamá me enseñó a licuar los tomates con un poco de cilantro. Luego se agrega sal, azúcar y orégano al gusto. Todo esto después se cocina hasta reducirlo, pero olvidé tomar fotos de la salsa cocinada...

¡Hora de preparar la masa!

Esto es mucho más simple. ¿Recuerdan el vaso de vidrio con nuestra mezcla de agua, harina, azucar y levadura? Pues bien, primero distribuimos la harina en un envase amplio, dejando un hueco en medio de la masa.

Agregamos nuestra mezcla mágica de levadura.

Azúcar a gusto.

Un poquito de sal.

Mezclamos un poco todos los ingredientes.

Luego amasamos con las manos, así a lo bestia, hasta que quede una masa uniforme y que no se les pegue de las manos, como a mi.

Hay que amasar la masa por 10 minutos, sí, 10 minutos. Presten atención, puede ser que esté comenzando tu programa de tv/streaming favorito, puede ser que recibas una notificación de que OCD (o alguna otra ballena) ha votado tu post al 100%, ¡puede estar comenzando el apocalipsis! Pero sin importar lo que suceda, debes seguir amasando hasta que pasen los 10 minutos. Debería quedar bonita, suavecita y uniforme (aquí tampoco pude tomar fotos...)

Las gatas vinieron a ver qué estaba haciendo...

Una vez lista nuestra masa, la cortamos en varias partes y la dejamos reposar.

El pimentón lo corté en juliana, mejor dicho lo cortó mi tía, no les voy a mentir, ella lo hizo mientras yo preparaba la masa. Estos son los ingredientes con los que adornaremos la pizza:

Nuestro bollo de masa lo estiramos y luego lo colocamos sobre nuestras mmmm... la cosa donde se cocinará nuestra pizza. Fue algo improvisado todo esto, así que usé una tortera pequeña, un sartén viejo y tapas de cacerolas para cocinar las pizzas en el horno.

¡Hora de armar todo! Solo es agregar la salsa, orégano seco, el queso y el pimentón como adorno para nuestra pizza.

Y así quedaron nuestras pizzas sin cocinar. Salieron cinco porque la levadura hizo crecer la masa más de lo esperado.

Tras 10 minutos de espera en el horno, ¡nuestras pizzas quedaron listas para ser devoradas por la familia! Ninguno quiso tomarse fotos, pero sí que disfrutaron de estas ricas pizzas que les preparé.

Hasta me dí el gusto de agregarle una tira de queso en el borde de la pizza. Si se va a hacer, que se haga bien, como debe ser... Provoca comerse la pantalla solo con verla, ¿sí o no?

Leí en la publicación del concurso sobre el giro... que mostrase un recuerdo ligado a mi receta, bueno, qué puedo decir. El simple hecho de que mi madre me enseñase estas cosas ya es un bonito recuerdo, porque gracias a esas buenas enseñanzas de mi madre, ahora yo puedo darme el gusto de cocinar para ella y los demás miembros de la familia, para retribuirles un poco de lo que con tanto cariño me dieron cuando vivía con ellos.

Una receta sencilla de pizza, la cual aprendí a hacer gracias a mi madre...


Bien amigos, esto es todo por ahora. Espero que mi publicación les haya gustado y que despierte ciertos deseos en ustedes de preparar su propias pizzas caseras jajaja. Me despido entonces...

¡Hasta la próxima!




Imagenes editadas con Photoshop
Fotos tomadas con tablet HP stream 7
Traducido con DeepL
Photos edited with Photoshop
Photos taken with HP stream 7 tablet
Translated with DeepL

Últimos tres post/Last three posts:
#LEARNANDEARN Contest - Security and photography
El cielo en llamas / The sky on fire
Testing design skills / Poniendo a prueba habilidades de diseño

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
24 Comments
Ecency