How To Avoid Plagiarism - A Simple Guide for Hive

Hello Lovely Hiveans !


PlagiarismGuide.jpg


También hemos creado una versión en español del post para todos los Hiveans de habla española . @lourdeshd6 fue tan amable de ayudar con la traducción. Muchas gracias por esto mi preciosa🤗

👉Versión en Español👈


I recently browsed through a huge amount of posts here in Hive to get an overview of how many Hiveans are actually plagiarizing in their posts .. I figured out that many of them are actually not using quotations at all. They are copying text from the internet partially, if not even completely ! .. But I also figured out that a VAST MAJORITY OF HIVEANS HAVE NO IDEA ABOUT THE WHOLE CONCEPT OF INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY AND HOW TO APPLY QUOTATION .. During the last months I tried to educate so many Hiveans about this topic, that I decided to make a EXPLANATORY POST for everyone who is interested. I will cover the following topics:

Outline of the Post

  • Definition of Plagiarism
  • How To Use Quotations
  • Paraphrasing
  • The Terminal




Definition Of Plagiarism


First of all let me give you a DEFINITION OF the terms PLAGIARISM, so that you know what this is actually all about 😉 .. After that I will talk about direct and indirect QUOTATION, as well as PARAPHRASING, so that you have a proper strategy at hand how TO AVOID PLAGIARISM .. Paraphrasing is actually the most elegant way for most of you I believe, as this strategy fits really nice into individual writing styles and is also the easiest one to apply 😉

PLAGIARISM

  • Plagiarism is the representation of another author's language, thoughts, ideas, or expressions as one's own original work.

So far so good .. I believe that most of you thought that this definition of plagiarism were my own words that I quickly wrote down 😁 ... but ... if you would take a closer look now and open this LINK IN WIKIPEDIA, which is the Wikipedia article about plagiarism you see that it is IDENTICAL WITH WHAT I JUST WROTE 😱


Plagiarizm.jpg
Wikipedia article about plagiarism, Source of the Picture

I WAS PLAGIARIZING THE AUTHOR OF THE ARTICLE on purpose. I read the article and just copy&pasted it to show you how quickly this can happen 🙄 .. Do you see that in this first three sentences there are 14 numbers written in SQUARE BRACKETS ? These INDICATE THE SOURCE from where the author of the Wikipedia article gained his knowledge for what he is writing together .. So in just three sentences he quoted a total of 14 publications that are the work from other authors .. If he would have not done it, he would have been plagiarizing too ^^.. In this case shown above you can find the indicated 14 sources directly in the written text, as well as the complete source stated underneath the article 😁

So please keep the following in mind: Whenever you do research (in the internet, or in some books at home, or elsewhere) and you find some information that you want to use, then you also HAVE TO USE QUOTATIONS, OR YOU ARE ACTUALLY PLAGIARIZING .. This ALSO applies to PICTURES !




How To Use Quotations


You now know that TO AVOID PLAGIARISM, you can USE QUOTATIONS ! .. First of all, you should know that there are TWO TYPES of quotations, namely DIRECT & INDIRECT quotations. In this chapter I will explain to you how this is actually done.

Therefor I will use TWO DIFFERENT EXAMPLES. The first one will be a QUOTE FROM ALBERT EINSTEIN ABOUT BEES and the second one will be about a WIKIPEDIA ARTICLE ABOUT BEES. I choose Wikipedia as I figured out that in about 90% of all cases this was the sources of accidentally plagiarism 😁

1st Example - Quote from Albert Einstein

Albert.jpg
Quote from Albert Einstein from 1965, Source of the Picture

  • DIRECT QUOTATION

... I recently read a quote from Albert Einstein that I find quite interesting. In 1965 he stated the following:

“If the bee disappeared off the surface of the globe, then man would have only four years of life left. No more bees, no more pollination, no more plants, no more animals, no more man.” -- Albert Einstein, 1965, Source

I find this a bit frightening as I personally experienced that the bee population was shrinking drastically here at the place where I am living ...

  • INDIRECT QUOTATION

... I recently read a quote from Albert Einstein where he mentioned, that if the bees disappear from the surface of the globe, we humans would have only four years left to live. He stated that without bees there would be no pollination and as a consequence no plants, then no animals and finally also no humans anymore. [Source] This is actually a bit frightening for me as I experienced that the bee population was shrinking drastically here at the place where I am living ...

2nd Example - Wikipedia Article about the Bee

Bee.jpg
Wikipedia article about bees, Source of the Picture

  • DIRECT QUOTATION

... as my interest was aroused after reading that quote, I did some research in the internet on bees in general. The Wikipedia entry about bees states the following:

“Bees are flying insects closely related to wasps and ants, known for their role in pollination and, in the case of the best-known bee species, the western honey bee, for producing honey. ... There are over 16,000 known species of bees in seven recognized biological families.” -- Wikipedia article about bees, Source

So there is actually a huge diversity of bee species out there ...

  • INDIRECT QUOTATION

... as my interest was aroused after reading that quote, I did some research in the internet on bees in general. The Wikipedia entry about bees mentions that bees are closely related to wasps and ants. The article also mentions that they take on the role of pollination. There are actually over 16.000 known species of bees. Thereby the western honey bee is the best-known species of all, as she is famous for producing honey. [Source] So there is actually a huge diversity of bee species out there ...



WHAT DID WE LEARN

  • In the example of DIRECT quotation I had to USE QUOTATION MARKS at the beginning and at the end of the quote from Albert Einstein, as well as in the Wikipedia article about the bee .. I also used the EXACT SAME WORDS AS THE AUTHOR. In the 2nd example I used three dots, (...), to skip parts of the quote that I was not interested to repeat.

  • The example for INDIRECT quotation is a bit it different. Here NO QUOTATION MARKS are necessary and the text features NOT THE EXACT SAME WORDS AS THE AUTHOR

  • But IN BOTH CASES it is necessary to NAME THE SOURCE. It is also not a bad idea to use phrases like STATED or MENTIONED to make it more clear.




Paraphrasing


One strategy that you can also use, and which is quite elegant, is PARAPHRASING. Hereby you WRITE THE WHOLE TEXT IN YOUR OWN WORDS. A big advantage of this strategy is that there is NO NEED FOR DIRECT OR INDIRECT QUOTING 🤗 .. In this case it is ENOUGH to LIST ALL YOUR SOURCES AT THE END OF YOUR POST 😊

ADVANTAGES over DIRECT QUOTATION

  • Of course you can put mainly direct quotations, but IF YOUR USE IT TO MUCH then your work will look mainly like a collection of Copy&Paste passages. This indicates that you are NOT WILLING TO PUT ANY EFFORT in the preparation of your posts. This will also LOWER YOUR REPUTATION as you are showing everyone that you don't seem to care to much about quality.

  • DIRECT QUOTATION MAY BE VERY SUITING in some cases, such as the Albert Einstein quote mentioned above, but I would suggest to you that you never extend this too much. If you do this, then better never do this more than for MAX 10% OF YOUR TEXT. In addition it looks far better if your direct quotes are NO LONGER THAN 3 SENTENCES long per quote.

ADVANTAGES over INDIRECT QUOTATION

  • INDIRECT QUOTATION is already something that make your publications appear far MORE APPEALING THAN DIRECT QUOTATION. But paraphrasing has the advantages that you do not have to arrange your whole text according to the quoted text. Here you are completely FREE TO USE YOUR OWN WRITING STYLE and are NOT DEPENDENT ON THE SOURCES

  • You can just SIMPLY COLLECT all the sources that you were using throughout your whole text and only have to STATE THEM AT THE END of your post 😉

EXAMPLE OF PARAPHRASING IN CASE OF THE BEES POST

  • First collect the information that you want to use: --- 1) Pollinators, 2) 16.000 known species , 3) closely related to wasps, 4) western honey bee producing honey.

  • Then just write down the text that YOU like:


When I was young I loved to go out into the forest, loved to run over the flower covered meadows or just to simply sit at the close-by rivers. I still remember exactly that there were bees just everywhere I looked. Even on my marmalade bread, which I found super annoying back in the days 😤 .. But nowadays I rarely encounter them, also there are soooo many different species of them, approximately 16.000 DIFFERENT ones. I really wonder where they all went to. Actually I find this a bit frightening as they are known to be the main POLLINATORS on earth. To be honest, I would not mind if the WASP disappears 🤣, a close relative of the bee and probably the bad-guy in this family, but not the honey bee !!! 😥 .. This super friendly guy is not only important to keep pollination alive, but is also famous for producing all the tasty HONEY that I love to make my mead from 🥃 .. If they really disappear, I fear for severe consequences for life on earth, but most important .. would I have to start drinking common wine ? 😱

  • At the end of the post just mention the sources that you used.

  • In addition, don't forget the source of the pictures that you were using in the post, even if they are your own, for example:

The pictures in this post were taken by myself, ©@adalger, with a Huawei P30 Mobile Phone. In the cases when they were taken from other sources I stated the source in the sub-caption of the pictures. For information gathering I used an article about bees on Wikipedia and a Quote from Albert Einstein.







There is another initiative here on Hive that I would like to bring close to you as I absolutely love them, The Terminal:

THE TERMINAL DISCORD

It is a great location for LEARNING EVERYTHING ABOUT HIVE, about Discord, and Hive-related content. The Terminal is full of super nice people that you may ask whenever you need ASSISTANCE, with nearly everything ^^ Here you will find documents to assist you, a place to learn and practice, and will have many opportunities to form CONNECTIONS with other great Hiveans.

The Terminal also hosts the REDFISH RALLY, a funny challenge for all those that are new to the Hiveasphere. It also hosts the HEYHAVEYAMET project by @heyhaveyamet, which introduces all new Hiveans on a daily basis, so that you don't have to search for them ^^


THE TERMINAL COMMUNITY

So why are you not just joining them in the THE TERMINAL DISCORD ? I am sure that you will not regret it 😉


"Your one-stop location for learning about destinations in the Hive blockchain and Discord"







The source of the pictures that I used in this post are stated in the sub-captions of the corresponding pictures. For information gathering I used an article about bees on Wikipedia and a Quote from Einstein.



If you want to know more about me, just look up my Introduceyourself post or follow my blog ^^

Learn more about @adalger here !




Best wishes,
Adalger


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
51 Comments
Ecency