New On Nigerian Hive// How to prepare Nigerian delicacy "Ekpang Nkukwo"

IMG_20200112_125536.jpg

Hello Nigerians!
Your baby girl is finally here. I learnt about Nigeria Hive some weeks ago but i couldn't settle just yet to make a post in this community. When i saw the community i was like "WOW"
So we have our own community made up with Nigerians flooding all around. I knew i wanted to belong and become a member too after all i am a Nigerian lol. Although i am very late but i will still love to thank @Theycallmedan for this initiative, thank you Sir.

My name is Uwakmfon Shammah and if you must ask, my username has nothing to do with my birth name hehehe. As crazy as it may sound, i chose the name @zellypearl on my own and the name has been since from high school.

I wanna boast a little about my country "NIGERIA" so i hope you wouldn't mind lol.
Nigeria is a country with 36 states, this states have their different slogans. I am an Akwa Ibomite and our motto is "The Land Of Promise".
We have different ethnic groups, some which are "Hausa, Yoruba, Igbo".

I am an Ibibio girl to be very precise. We have different delicious dishes here some which are; Ekpang Nkukwo(Wateryam dish), Asa Iwa (Cassava dish), Afang soup, Edikan Ikong(Vegetable/pumpkin soup) etc.

I would love to share our methods of preparing some of our native delicacies.

How to prepare Ekpang Nkukwo


Imgref

FOOD ITEMS

  • Water-yam
  • Periwinkle
  • Cocoyam
  • Crazyfish
  • Fish
  • Pepper
  • Salt
  • Onion
  • Cocoyam leaf
  • Maggi
  • Palm oil
  • Pumpkin leaf

Method of Preparation

  • Peel both the cocoyam and wateryam

  • Wash the two and put in a clean bowl

  • Grater both the wateryam and cocyam into a big tray


Imgref

  • Mix the both the wateryam and cocoyam together, add a little salt and knead well

    Imgref

  • Wash the cocoyam leaves and cut into pieces and smaller sizes

  • Pour the palm oil into a big pot and leave it to settle at the bottom

  • Cut the mixture into the pieced leaves and wrap it up, placing them inside the oiled pot

    Imgref

  • Boil a measurable amount of water till hot; very hot

  • Pour in the hot water inside the wrapped wateryam/cocoyam mixture and leave it on fire

  • Add all your food ingredients like crayfish, pepper, onion, maggi, salt, periwinkles, fish etc.

  • Slice your pumpkin or vegetable leaf and add to your food to spice it up.

  • Finally you add your palm oil and wait for some minutes

And boom! you have your delicious "Ekpang Nkukwo" ready and very tasty.


Imgref

I know it takes a while to prepare this. Most of our people fear to prepare this delicacy because it is time consuming and a little stressful lol especially for lazy people. So because of this, some people prepare it once in a while.

I know this wasn't a food post but i thought of showcasing my native delicacy, one of Nigeria's best native delicacies. We have a lot of delicious dishes here and Ekpang Nkukwo happens to be one of my best dish.

I will share more about my beloved country Nigeria in the nearest future. I know some of my fellow Nigerians had already shared some facts about our country.

I am a proud Nigerian

I love my country Nigeria

@zellypearl

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency