Watch, Book, Hugs

It's funny, when I initiated this challenge about My three most valuable possessions, I thought I wouldn't have any valuable possessions as I'm not very attached to "things". Plus with me moving around, I have decluttered a lot over the years, and started to give things away. Then I sat down to think, and remembered, there are things that I've held onto for a long time, because, they are part of me.
livinguktaiwan divider.png

Watch

The first item is this vintage watch that belonged to my mum. It's an Omega Ladymatic, the first lady's automatic watch produced by Omega. When I first got it from my mum, I took it to a watch dealer that I knew well, and she marvelled at how nice it was. I had it fully serviced, changed a new original strap and now it's working perfectly.
20240318_171253.jpg

I wear it alternatively with my other watches, but not too often because it's very precious to me. One day I will hand it down by to the next, or maybe next next generation. I hope they will love and appreciate it as much as I do even though the recipient may not have met my mother before.
20240318_171348.jpg

livinguktaiwan divider.png

Book

The second item belongs to my dad. Like
many from his generation he doesn't speak English, and when he came to UK in search of a better life he got this book to learn English. It's very old now and is starting to fall to pieces and I don't let many people to touch it.
20240319_153204.jpg

The book starts with the most basic, like numbers. The Chinese writing is on the left, followed by the numbers, then the English word, and finally the phonetic pronunciation using Chinese words. It's not very accurate as the two languages are very different and often there are no words that sound the same or even similar. When I first got hold of the book, I had a great laugh with my friends. One of us would read the phonetic pronunciation and the other would try to guess what the English word was. Most of the time we'd guess wrong, it was hilarious. I have no idea if or how my dad managed to learn English like this. However, I know he must have tried hard, the pages are starting to fall apart.
20240319_153256.jpg

The subjects in the book reflects the life and trade back in those days. Like the phrases in this chapter, they all seem random today.
20240319_153546.jpg

livinguktaiwan divider.png

Hugs

The last item is quite cheesy. When we first married many years ago, I found these two connectors at home. They belong to my husband, he has loads of random electrical/technical bits lying around. I was playing around with them and realized they would fit tightly together. I got quite excited and showed my husband. "Look! They're hugging, like us!!!" I even wrote our names inside. He thought I was very silly 😜

It took me a while to find this today. I know I put them in with a box of miscellaneous things things and I nearly thought it had got lost with me moving around so much. Huggies are back!!
20240319_174004.jpg

20240319_184358.jpg

livinguktaiwan divider.png

Do you have any valuable possessions that are important to you? If so, please do share with us. You can check out this post for more information
@hive-100848/my-three-most-valuable-possessions

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
51 Comments
Ecency