My Birthday Lunch

One of the things I enjoy most in life is eating, and of course on my birthday I couldn't let it pass without eating something delicious, and that's why with some time to go I had already decided on a super deli menu: Octopus with garlic, lemon potatoes and patacones.


Happy day my beautiful people of #hive, today I write to you from the food corner, @hivefood, to tell you how was my birthday lunch at home, because two weeks in advance I was thinking about something delicious for that day, since I thought I would not go out to eat, which in the end changed, as I told you in my post of a few days ago.

The thing is that eating out was not in my plans, but that was no reason not to eat something I liked to share with my family, and after thinking a little, and remembering that it was octopus season, and that they were at an excellent price, that's how it was going to go.

The selection was garlic octopus, because I had never eaten it that way, and garlic squid is one of my favorite dishes, so I thought I would try it, and since I was on the subject of seafood, I went back to the days when I went with my parents to a restaurant by the beach, and the squid was served with steamed potatoes and patacones, so I would do that, only I gave the potatoes a different touch by adding lemon and I did not steam them, and I tell you that everything was finger-licking good.



It is a dish that took me back to those days when the five of us (my parents and my two sisters) would go to the beach to eat for a special occasion, and although it was not as good as the ones made by Mrs. "Rosenda" (owner of the restaurant), it was too delicious, I loved it so much, that yesterday I prepared it again.

Besides, it does not require many ingredients, nor great techniques, I see it as something quite simple to make. And to start, here are the ingredients.



2 large octopus, cooked and cut in cubes
5 large potatoes
2 green plantains
1 large onion
8 cloves of garlic
1 large branch of onion
1 large branch of cilantro
1 lime
Salt and oil (quantity needed)

This quantity that I leave you is for 5 people, since this time my mom had lunch with us, so take into account the number of diners and adjust the quantities of the ingredients, which as you can see are not many.



FOR THE OCTOPUS

Finely chop all the vegetables, reserving a portion of cilantro for the potatoes.


Sauté in two tablespoons of oil until crystallized, add the octopus along with a drizzle of oil. Depending on your taste, add a little more or less. Let it cook for five minutes, and it is ready.



FOR THE POTATOES

Wash and cut the potatoes in medium pieces leaving the skin on.


Add the reserved cilantro, the juice of one lemon, a splash of oil, salt to taste and mix well.


Transfer to a fairly large skillet, cover the potatoes with water, cover and let cook until soft. In my case, I did it in the electric skillet, because I definitely love how fast it cooks.


Once the potatoes are soft uncover and let cook until the water evaporates completely, and at that point add a little more oil and let brown.



FOR THE "PATACONES"

Peel and cut the plantains into rounds of approximately two centimeters.


Brown the plantain on both sides and flatten and then fry again.


In my case, I do this process using the back of two plates and a plastic bag that I place on one of them, and what I do is press the plantain hard between the two plates, add salt and fry until golden brown, because the idea is that they are super crispy.



And this would be the last component of my recipe. The only thing left to do is to plate it and serve it with a lemon paprika, and all I needed was the beach, because I even had the heat.


I hope you liked the recipe and that you are encouraged to prepare it at home because it was really delicious. Kisses and blessings!





De las cosas que más disfruto en la vida es comer, y por supuesto el día de mi cumple no podía dejarlo pasar sin comer algo rico, y por eso con algo de tiempo ya me había decidido por un menú súper deli: Pulpo al ajillo, con papas al limón y patacones.


Feliz día mi gente bonita de #hive, hoy les escribo desde el rincón de la comida, @hivefood, para contarles cómo estuvo mi almuerzo de cumple en casa, pues con dos semanas de anticipación estuve pensando en algo rico para ese día, ya que pensaba que no saldría a comer fuera, cosa que al final cambio, tal como les conté en mi post de hace unos días.

El caso es que no estaba en mis planes comer fuera, pero ese no era motivo para no comer algo que me gustara para compartir con mi familia, y después de pensar un poco, y recordando que era temporada de pulpo, y que estaban a un excelente precio, por ahí iría la cosa.

La selección fue pulpo al ajillo, pues no lo había comido jamás de esa forma, y los calamares al ajillo son de mis platos favoritos, así que pensé probar, y ya que estaba en un tema de comida del mar, me fui a los días en que iba con mis padres a un restaurante a la orilla de la playa, y los calamares los servían con papas al vapor y patacones, así que eso haría, solo que a las papas les di un toque diferente agregando limón y no las hice al vapor, y les cuento que todo quedó para chuparse los dedos.



Es un plato que me llevó a viajar por completo a esos días donde los cinco (mis padres y mis dos hermanas) nos íbamos a comer a la playa por alguna fecha especial, y aunque no quedó como los de la señora "Rosenda" (dueña del restaurante), quedó demasiado rico, yo lo amé tanto, que ayer lo volví a preparar.

Además, no lleva muchos ingredientes, ni grandes técnicas, yo lo veo como algo bastante sencillo de hacer la verdad. Y para comenzar, les dejo los ingredientes.



2 pulpos grandes, cocidos y cortados en cubos
5 papas grandes
2 plátanos verdes
1 cebolla grande
8 dientes de ajo
1 rama grande de cebollin
1 rama grande de cilantro
1 limón
Sal y aceite (cantidad necesaria)

Esta cantidad que les dejo es para 5 personas, ya que en esta ocasión mi mamá almorzó con nosotros, así que tomen en cuenta el número de comensales y ajusten las cantidades de los ingredientes, que como ven no son muchos.



PARA EL PULPO

Cortar finamente todos los vegetales, reservando una porción de cilantro para las papas.


Sofreír en dos cucharadas de aceite hasta cristalizar, agregar el pulpo junto con un chorrito de aceite. Dependiendo de su gusto, agregan un poco más o menos. Dejamos cocinar cinco minutos, y ya estaría listo.



PARA LAS PAPAS

Lavar y cortar las papas en trozos medianos dejando la piel.


Agregar el cilantro reservado, el jugo de un limón, un chorrito de aceite, sal al gusto y mezclar muy bien.


Llevar a un sartén bastante amplio, cubrir las papas con agua, tapar y dejar cocinar hasta que estén suaves. En mi caso, yo lo hice en el sartén eléctrico, porque definitivamente amo lo rápido que cocina.


Una vez las papas estén suaves destapar y dejar cocinar hasta que el agua se evapore por completo, y en ese punto agregar un poco más de aceite y dejar dorar.



PARA LOS PATACONES

Pelar y cortar los plátanos en ruedas de aproximadamente dos centímetros.


Dorar el plátano por ambos lados y aplastar para luego volver a freír.


En mi caso, este proceso lo hago utilizando la parte posterior de dos platos y una bolsita plástica que coloco en uno de ellos, y lo que hago es presionar el plátano con fuerza entre los dos platos, agrego la sal y llevo a freir hasta dorar muy bien, pues la idea es que estén súper crujientes.



Y ya este sería el último componente de mi receta. Lo único que queda es emplatar y acompañar con un papelón con limón, y ya solo me faltaba la playa, porque hasta el calor tenía.


Espero les haya gustado la receta y que se animen a prepararla en casa porque la verdad quedó deliciosa. ¡Besitos y bendiciones!


Photography by|Fotografía por:@rlathulerie, Samsung Galaxy M12, Cover, Edition and Banners created in/Portada, Edición y Banners creados en Canva Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
29 Comments
Ecency