This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Cubios, discovering new flavors (EN-ES)

photo_2024-07-06_13-29-14.jpg

Greetings, my dear food-loving friends. I hope you are doing very well, enjoying health and well-being.

Today, I want to share with you a delicious and nutritious discovery. It is cubio, a tuber that I found in the market during my vegetable shopping.

I had never seen it before. At first, I thought it was a kind of carrot because of its shape, but when I asked one of the guys who was stocking the vegetable area, he told me they were called cubios.

Saludos, mis queridos amigos amantes de la comida. Espero que se encuentren muy bien, gozando de salud y bienestar.

Hoy, quiero compartir con ustedes un delicioso y nutritivo descubrimiento. Se trata del cubio, un tubérculo que conseguí en el mercado durante mis compras de vegetales.

Nunca antes lo había visto. Al principio, pensé que era una especie de zanahoria por su forma, pero cuando le pregunté a uno de los chicos que estaba surtiendo el área de vegetales, me dijo que se llamaban cubios.

photo_2024-07-06_13-29-17.jpg

This tuber known as cubio, mashuas or bitter potato is widely grown in Colombia and other countries such as Bolivia, Ecuador and Peru. I was surprised by their appearance because they are small and elongated, with a rough white skin, but you can get them in other colors such as dark purple, yellow and pink tones, according to what the guy told me.

I bought a small bag to try them and appreciate their natural flavor in a simple recipe. So I boiled them and served them with salt and a little olive oil to accompany my meal of the day.

They can also be roasted in the oven or prepared in soups and stews. Next time, I want to prepare them stewed with chicken curry.

Este tubérculo conocido como cubio, mashuas o papa amarga se cultiva mucho en Colombia y en otros países como Bolivia, Ecuador y Perú. Me sorprendió su apariencia porque son pequeños y alargados, con una piel rugosa de color blanco, pero se pueden conseguir de otros colores como morado oscuro, tonos amarillos y rosados, según lo que me dijo el chico.

Compré una bolsita para probarlos y apreciar su sabor natural en una receta sencilla. Así que los herví y los serví con sal y un poco de aceite de oliva para acompañar mi comida del día.

También pueden ser asados al horno o preparados en sopas y guisos. La próxima vez, quiero prepararlos guisados con pollo al curry.

photo_2024-07-06_13-29-22.jpg

Cubios have interesting nutritional properties. I was reading that they are rich in vitamin C, antioxidants and have a high fiber content, which is beneficial for our organism. Also, they contain high concentrations of glucosinolates and isothiocyanates. These compounds are known for their antibiotic, diuretic and anticarcinogenic properties.See.

As you can see, after boiled they took a purple color, and as for taste, I can tell you that it is very particular, it has a slightly spicy and bitter touch, but very tasty.

Definitely, discovering these cubes was an excellent way to vary my meals and explore new flavors. Let me know if you knew them, if you have tried them and if you like them or not.

Los cubios tienen propiedades nutritivas interesantes. Estuve leyendo que son ricos en vitamina C, antioxidantes y tienen un alto contenido de fibra, lo cual es beneficioso para nuestro organismo. También, contienen altas concentraciones de glucosinolatos e isotiocianatos. Estos compuestos son conocidos por sus propiedades antibióticas, diuréticas y anticancerígenas.Ver.

Como pueden ver, después de hervidos tomaron un color morado, y de sabor, puedo decirles que es muy particular, tiene un toque ligeramente picante y amargo, pero muy sabroso.

Definitivamente, descubrir estos cubios fue una excelente manera de variar mis comidas y explorar nuevos sabores. Cuéntenme si los conocían, si los han probado y si les gustan o no.

photo_2024-07-06_13-29-25.jpg


Until next time!

¡Hasta una próxima oportunidad!


Todo el contenido de esta publicación es contenido original y trabajo creativo personal. Los separadores y banners son mis diseños en Canva. Las fotos son de mi propiedad.

All content in this publication is original content and personal creative work. The separators and banners are my designs in Canva. The photos are my property.

Gracias por tu visita (1).png