the throne of an orchid


Link

"The king is dead!" was the thunderous scream that rung out into the castle of Alba. They were words that had not been spoken of in almost more than a century. Never did the people of this kingdom grow weary of their leader. For many years they had always rejoiced for their king of royalty. He had lived a long life and it was not uncommon to hear of kings living more than 200 years.

It was during the Feast of the Throne, when all the people of this land would come together to praise their king. The king has many titles of royalty, but only one would be used on the day of the Feast of the Throne. That title is King of Kings. No other title is used within the kingdom of Alba, it is the one title that is shared with all kings across the land.

All that had changed two days ago. On the day of the feast of the throne, the king had summoned all of his royal guard.

"I wish to share one last feast with my people before I die," the king had said to his guard.

"You can hardly expect us to share your last meal?" one guard had asked.

"I do not expect it! But I was hoping you would join me in my last act of governance. I have many accomplishments I would like to share with you."

A guard had frowned. "This is not the time for last words, my king. Your curtains are within two days."

"So are my guards," the king had smiled. "I have requested that they be allowed to join me at the feast."

This obviously caught the guard off guard, "You have requested this?"

"Yes, I have," the king had said with a smile.

"My king, you have another thing you have not requested, the Teeth of the Lion," the guard had said with some nervousness in his voice. "Are you not afraid of what might happen if they should enter your private chambers at your time of death?"

The king smiled, he had seen this coming. "I am no fool. I am not afraid of something that I cannot see. They will not harm me. After all, how could the demonic Teeth of the Lion harm the great King of Kings?"

The guard that had questioned him looked at his companions. They looked back at him. It was obvious that none of them had an answer for their king. The king looked at his guards, "Well? What are you waiting for?" he said with a smile. "Join me in my feast."

It was then that the guards realized that this was a test that their king wished to know which of them was going to take the throne after he was gone. The guards had all started to protest, but it had been useless. They said nothing more to the king and simply left the room to gather the royal guard.

The king did not want all of his guards, but a select few. He did not want all of them to know he was about to die. He had summoned 13 of his soldiers. The king had known that there were only 12 guards inside the castle, but he did not know that one of them was waiting outside the door. That guard, the boy that had been told to stand guard outside the door to await the king's order, had gone unnoticed by the king.

All of the guards that had left the room had come back in. The king had looked around the room to pick his guards.

"There are really only twelve guards in the room. None of your fellow guards know about this, right?" the king had asked his guard with a smile.

The guard nervously stammered, "No, this is the first time I have seen anyone but you. I have stood guard outside the door waiting for your orders."

The king had smiled with pride at the guard, "Well then, I shall allow my guard to enter the room. I am summoning them to my feast. Do not let them pass the doorway. I have chosen only the best of the best for this honor."

The guard had nodded to the king's wishes, "I will do as you command, my king. I shall not fail you."

The king had continued to look for his guards. "There are only thirteen of you, correct?" he had asked his guard.

"Your majesty, there are only twelve here," the guard had told him.

"Oh, what a pity," he had said while shaking his head. "Well, I suppose I should order the other guard to bring in the ones that are not here?" he had asked his guard.

The king nodded to one of his guards, "How long will it take to leave the main battalion and join the throne room?" the king had asked. "The feast of the throne will not be long enough to kill us all." The guard had thought for a moment. "If it will take us no more than five hours to reach the throne room, it will be well within time for the king to share this last feast with his people."

The king had smiled at this.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency