Hurricane Hermine Aftermath: We're Still Here!

Good morning everyone from Tallahassee, FL! We're still here! We woke up this morning to no power and walked the dogs around the neighborhood. It's a mess out there. I took a few photos of the neighborhood as we walked around. You can see in our local newspaper the damage in the surrounding areas.

You can hear the sounds now of chainsaws and roosters (yes, in the middle of town), and people calling out to each other from across the street. "Are you okay?" They ask. Our neighbors are out walking the dogs, admiring the wreckage and gathering in groups to talk.

As you can see, our city has taken a hit. I read this morning that 70,000 people are without power and that it could be days before the lights come back on. My wife and I are fine. We have gas appliances that still run. The water is clean right now, but we have a filter that can clean up to 10000 gallons of water, and we have canned and dried food. We had hot coffee this morning fresh cooked eggs. My quail will continue to lay eggs if we run out.




A few of our main roads are blocked by debris and power lines!


Our city is resilient though, and our people are wonderful.

We're still here and we are already rebuilding!

I have written this from my laptop (hastily, I am down to 50% charge) tethered to my jailbroken phone! So this post is brought to you by the Pangu Team!


If you like my work please follow me!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center