Pacific Poison Oak (Toxicodendron diversilobum) - Health and Healing

Health and healing includes knowing what to avoid as well as what to collect. Thankfully, the "avoid" list is relatively short in most areas. However, poison oak can sometimes look very innocent. Here are some images I captured across the road from @goatgirlz and @meanbees when we visited them last August. I turned it into a learning experience for my daughters - and my husband who can be a little bit of a worrywort at times.

IMGP2704_1600.JPG

I love how shiny and glossy the leaves are on poison oak (and poison ivy, btw.) It is an attractive plant, as you can see.

They do look a bit like oak leaves, but in that cluster of three. (Though the adage "leaflets three, let it be" is a good place to start, there are many plants like that - including regular blackberry vines!)

IMGP2705_1600.JPG

IMGP2708_1600.JPG

The berries are not very showy, but definitely a part of the late summer, early autumn plant. They go a lovely bright red in the fall. Again, it really is an attractive plant - just very itchy.

Poison oak (like poison ivy) contains an oil that most people are allergic to.

IMGP2709_1600.JPG

Here are some remedies for poison oak.

Amazingly, even this plant has medicinal qualities according to the Wikipedia article. Native tribes used poison oak for things such as: warts, corns, calluses, cauterizing sores, bleeding, dysentery, ringworm, and rattlesnake bites! I guess the "law of similars" was alive and well... Something that causes rash just might help heal rashes too.

Anyone else scratching right now???

Today's photos are my own. Taken with my Pentax K30 in NW Oregon, August 2019

Crossposted at Steem, Whaleshares, WeKu

Past issues of Health and Healing

Wild Healing

Disease Prevention/Healing

Herbal Medicine


Crystal Healing



Disclaimer:

I am not a medical doctor. I am a solver of problems. I do the best I can to research and come up with possibilities that you may find useful, but I cannot diagnose your medical issue, nor can I tell you the best way to handle your situation. If in doubt, seek professional assistance.

When turning to nature, especially in the wild, you must take all responsibility to do due diligence. Using the wrong plant/herb/fungi can be extremely harmful or even fatal. When in doubt, seek experienced help. Note that identical plants/fungi found in a different country may be very different.



Lori Svensen
author/designer at A'mara Books
photographer/graphic artist for Viking Visual
verified author on Goodreads
find me on Twitter
blogging on: Steem, Whaleshares, WeKu

Discord Link

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency