My “Thanksgiving” market haul in Gualaquiza, Ecuador

I’m so grateful to be living here where quality food is affordable, and in abundance!

yeqbsqm18s.jpg

And for the opportunity to be growing my own food @terrafrutis!

“Everyday is banana day” - multiple different banana (11) and papaya varieties in abundance from the property - jackfruits, tomatoes, lettuce, noni, wild plants, etc. with many other tropical fruit trees flowering/ripening within the next couple of months.

I’m thrilled to soon be trying all the new (to me) tropical fruits while I’m here ☺️

7t9tuahs8v.jpg

qrxp3p85zz.jpg

1 hour walk + Bus ride to Gualaquiza - $0.90

21 mangos - $4

10 granadilla - $2

9 beets, big bunch of radishes - $1.50

Medium watermelon - $3

3 soursop - $10

Napa cabbage - $0.50

1 large zucchini - $1

12 apples - $3

12 mandarins - $2

9 Tomatoes - $3

Garlic - $.25

Peanuts - $2

~$33 USD total

Comparing these prices to the cost of US food and my mind is blown 🤯

The mangoes alone back in the US would have costed me about $~53!

(1st photo creds go to my amazing partner @holistichippiehealin)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now