DIY Medicine: Nettle

final(128).jpg

final(125).jpg

final(124).jpg

final(123).jpg

Stinging Nettle, what an absolutely incredible plant. There are hundreds of different strains from all over the world, however in this post I'm sticking mainly to Common Stinging Nettle (Urtica Dioica). I find the sting in this one to be not as bad as other varieties however it is still a good idea to handle with gloves for a while. On the other hand I do not recommend touching strains such as the New Zealand tree nettle (Urtica Ferox) with bare hands, as it can cause severe breathing problems.
Personally I like to drop a few leaves in whatever tea I'm having, the hot water will deactivate the sting rendering it safe to drink.

Sources -
101 Uses For Stinging Nettles: Piers Warren
Nature's Medicines: Reader's Digest

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now