You Won't Believe I Traveled Here for Free in New Zealand (Part II) | HEAVEN IS A PLACE ON MIDDLE EARTH

heaven is a place on earth 3.png

Hiya! From my previous post, I promised that I'll take you next to other heavenly spots in Rotorua, but this time near to the countryside. I'm particularly excited about sharing these with you as these are one of the most beautiful places around town. Not only are these so picturesque, but they can easily fit in anyone's budget.

Let's begin, shall we?


#1 REDWOODS

Aside from geothermal activities, Redwoods is one of the most visited spots in Rotorua. Its lush foliage and the towering redwood trees around make a day perfect for strolling or trail running. If you are up for casual wandering, the main course provided can only be circumvented within 20 minutes. Perfect for a quick escape!

Redwood canopy


Wandering around, there's an unexplained majesty surrounded by these huge trees. It feels like the world is still big for me to explore, and I am only a small portion of this great Earth. But as the cliche' goes, connect with something greater than yourself. And this is what I exactly I followed; hug a tree!

Trees need some loving, too!

I couldn't miss posing for instagrammable moments in the area as well. Excuse me for photobombing these beautiful spot. I can just sit here all day under the cool shade of these trees.

viber_image_20200902_193105.jpg

The cold ambiance here sits perfectly well with the rays of sunshine that exquisitely accent the surrounding flora's lushes. Not to mention upon entering, one can readily sense the inhabitance of natural species from the forest sounds.

I've been here three times already, trying different trails each time, and I still can't get enough of this place. The trees, the damp Earth, and the serenity make Redwoods so bewitching every time. Truly, a memorable into the woods experience.


#2 OKERE RESERVE

We went here as part of our day-trip itinerary after successfully completed our project management paper. I was fortunate to be part of a group that shares the same drive as mine, and from everyone's faces, everyone is ecstatic in visiting other beautiful spots around the area.

The Okere Reserve provides scenic combinations of the river, falls, and the lush tracks around the area. The Earth is damp and soft because of the water bodies' proximity, which made me think of trail running actually if I were in the right clothes.
viber_image_20200902_193803.jpg

The trip walk is around 3 km, and I promise every step of the way leads anyone to wonderful lookouts and views. You can get as close as you like to the river and have photos with it along the trail.

viber_image_20200902_192917.jpg

The falls are sure short, but you can't count out the raging river waters connected to it. The site is apparently well-maintained from its clear and blue waters and the peaceful ambiance area. During summer, this area is jampacked with adventurers and thrill-seekers because of its famous rafting offers. I would definitely try this out soon, but while the water is still cold here, the view and the peace would suffice.

viber_image_20200902_193033.jpg

There is also a bridge over the river perfect for look out. Who would miss out taking pictures at that spot? Definitely, not me.

If you are looking for an all-in-one experience here in Rotorua, then this place is absolutely a five-star.


#3 BLUE LAKE

You might think that I'm overselling this site, but this is the most beautiful place I've seen here in New Zealand so far. Think of a heavenly place on Earth, and this spot gives a close call to that.

viber_image_20200902_193438.jpg

Blue lake gives you a post-card scenery of serene waters and a coast side spot where you can contemplate and relax. When I came here, I said to myself that I am definitely in New Zealand because of its desktop wallpaper level views. The place is so huge and clean that anyone can just sit on the tables and have a picnic on any sunny day. Free barbecue areas are also available here fit for group outings and picnics.

Of course, to make the most out of this tourist destination, we chose to stay on the spot closest to the river to feel the fresh breeze and see ducklings swimming nearby. The sights allowed us to enjoy our food even more and discuss our country's journey and plans.


The place also contains heaps of colorful art pieces, which makes it more attractive. Kiwi artworks and bright-colored chairs and benches really look good in pictures.
viber_image_20200902_193916.jpg

The National Symbol, Kiwi Bird


On top of those, the place is also perfect for different recreational activities, such as running, walking, biking, boating, swimming, or skiing. The lake is surrounded by a 5 km trail that is equivalent to an hour of good sweat for anyone who wants to explore the place more. On summer days, Blue Lake is a popular spot for tourists to go sunbathing and swimming. Watch out summer, I'll definitely try all of these when I come back! But for now, I'll just have to sit, relax, and enjoy the cool breeze.

viber_image_20200902_192850.jpg


Coming here to New Zealand, I didn't expect myself to spend much on travels as I want to build my life and career quickly here while my capabilities still can. Also being a student and far away from home, budget is a tough aspect to balance among bills, savings, and leisure spending.

However, the fortunes are so kind to me that I end up residing in Rotorua where most tourist destinations are free and convenient. I didn't have to spend much on paying extra fees for entrance and transport, as well as balancing my money at the end of the day. Definitely, who would say no to free travels?

I wish you had a fantastic time joining me in my adventures here in Rotorua, and whatever you are keeping yourself busy now, I hope you take the time to relax and unwind as well.

See you in my next post.
Kia Ora!

[//]:# (!pinmapple -38.149651 lat 176.237926 long  d3scr)




About the Writer

    Kiwinie is a proud Filipina who is still exploring her life of becoming. She strives, dreams, and is ceaseless. But in between her aspirations, she also laughs hard, engages, and gives back to the community.
    
    Follow her journey as she unravels herself in this world full of adventures and setbacks.  

    For thoughts, suggestions, or collaborations, feel free to comment below. She'd be happy to take note and learn from them. 
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
31 Comments
Ecency