A Glimpse of Home

I moved from South Devon all the way up the North East of England about two months before lockdown began last year. It was my first time moving out of home, and I was super excited to begin a whole new chapter with my boyfriend.

There had, of course, been whispers about a virus, and a potential pandemic, but I don't think anyone expected how hard it would hit.

P1020858edit.jpg

Until last year, I'd lived my whole life in a seaside town. I never imagined living too far away from a beach because that is where I would always go to clear my head.

There's something calming to me about being near the water. Even on days when the seas were rough, I still found it oddly relaxing to watch the waves crashing. There's so much beauty in that.

P1020857.JPG

This view... the view of the beach from that little wall in the first photo. I never knew how much I would come to miss it. How much of my life was really tied up in that small town I haven't been able to get back to yet.

That's not to say I'm unhappy. More wistful and kinda homesick. Sometimes I look at these photos and they give me some sense of being connected to where I come from.

Of course, there are beaches up here. Actually, some very beautiful ones - but travel restrictions deem them just too far away for a visit right now.

I would give just about anything to fight over a pasty with a seagull again! 😂

Restrictions are beginning to loosen now. Hopefully soon, that fresh sea air will be reachable to me once more.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency