This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Hand-lettering Contest | My Entry | Quote of my Life + Process of My Hand-Letter Quote

20180406_001253-1.jpg

Two days ago, I was browsing through my Feeds here on Steemit when I saw this contest about making a Hand-lettered Quote. I haven't done any hand-lettered quote, though I have tried lettering a name or whatever I can think of. So at first I was hesitant to join this contest 'cause I thought to myself that I haven't tried making one. And also because of the fact that I don't have a calligraphy pen that I can use.

But then today I was thinking about what I can do or share to you guys for my today's post, so I looked up at the hand-lettering contest again, and I thought, maybe I can do it. Let me just try.

So I read the mechanics of the contest:

  1. Choose a quote that you really like. Make a hand-lettering of it on any piece of paper, even a scratch paper may do. You may color it if you like. Printed on computers or digitalized artworks are not allowed. It must be HAND-LETTERED.

  2. On your post, make "Hand-lettering Contest | My Entry" as your title.

  3. On your description, post the picture of your artwork first, then explain the following:
    3a. Why you chose such particular quote and what does the quote mean to you? (The content also matters so explain well.)

  4. Make "handletteraquote" your main category or tag, and "handletteringcontest" for tag #2 for easier checking of entries, the other three tags you want to put in, are all up to you.

  5. You may only submit 1 entry for this contest so make the most out of your post.

  6. Post your link in the comment section below so that we will know you have an entry.

After reading the mechanics, I asked myself,

"What will be the perfect quote?"
"What is that one quote that will represent my feelings?"

I searched on Google on what kind of quote I should, but I wasn't able to find any.

Then I remembered this one quote that I read and I thought, this is it, it's perfect. The quote was,

"Be gentle with yourself,
you're doing the best you can"


Why I chose this quote?

This quote means a lot to me. There were times in my life that I felt like a trash. That I was useless. I am a failure. I felt like I'm not that kind of daughter whose parents will be proud of. I was harsh to myself. I got stressed and suffered with anxiety. I was not able to think straight and felt like everything that I do will disappoint my parents. I felt like every decision that I make is wrong.

But then I met my partner, @trishy. She made me feel alive again. Because of her, I try to be positive again. I don't know what's with her, but I felt confident whenever I'm with her. Though our relationship's not perfect, we always managed to get over the tough time and stick together. And that made me want to continue living and be happy with what I have and who I am. And that I never have to hide anymore.

That's when I realized that even though life's not perfect, a person should not feel worthless. Yes problems will continue to come, but we should block it with positivity. We may have done some wrong decisions in life, but we should always remember to "be gentle with yourself, you're doing the best you can".

PROCESS OF MY HAND-LETTER QUOTE

Since I didn't have any calligraphy pen, I only used my Unipin Pen and watercolor.

20180405_015206.jpg
I started with writing it on my vellum board using a mechanical pencil.

20180405_172318.jpg
Then I traced it using Unipin 0.1. Then I ereased the pencil marks.

20180405_172438.jpg
This is the watercolor that I used. I used a round brush.

20180405_174040.jpg
I gently colored it with watercolor using my brush. I used the 7 colors of the rainbow. I let it dry for a few minutes before tracing the words again.

20180405_182127.jpg
This is me writing my quote ☺ @trishy took this photi of me while working on my artwork. 😅

I traced the words again using Unipin 0.1. Then filled it out using Unipin 0.7. So here it is:

20180405_182150.jpg

20180405_185218.jpg

20180405_230206.jpg

20180405_231141.jpg

20180406_001132.jpg

And my hand-lettered quote is done!

Remember guys, even though life's tough, always believe in yourself. You're doing the best you can!

THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR SUPPORTING AND READING MY POST!!!

Please do support @surpassinggoogle, he has been an amazing person. I support him as a witness. I voted for him at https://steemit.com/~witnesses. It would be very much appreciated if you do the same by voting him at https://steemit.com/~witnesses and then type in "steemgigs" at the first search box. If you want to give him witness voting decisions on your behalf, visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses again and type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.

Also, a big thanks to @bayanihan for always supporting my posts.

Screenshot_2018-03-10-04-46-29-1.png

"This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License"

Screenshot_2018-03-07-14-34-45-1.png

DQmZigP4Np5NLVmNR1N3zbpfgfEHkTXRQiGNmh589wMKauD.gif

aboutart_.png

Logo
Center