Natural hair care recipe

Natural hair care recipe

image.png

I am a surfer and spend a lot of time in the sun and salt water. Additionally this means that I have exposure to wind and waves which can tend to tangle and rip the hair significantly. Over time this can lead to extremely damaging conditions and my hair has suffered as a result. Over the years I have trialed several different options and I wanted to share a simple recipe for hair care that I have found to be effective in protecting my hair from damage.

I have not found a solution for protecting the hair from sun damage that is better than wearing a hat. My preferred hat is called a buoy hat. It is a great product because it floats and is a bright color that is easy to retrieve after a wipe out.
I tend to prefer tucking all of my hair into the hat to protect as much as I can.

image.png

The product that best protects the hair from the damaging salt water and will renourish your hair strands after a session is a solution of aloe vera, coconut oil, and water.

It is quite simple to make this solution. Be sure to cut off the hard outer layer of the aloe vera leaves. What remains is the tender gel on the inside. Place the gel into a blender with two parts gel and one part water. For a solution with one cup of water add 1 tsp of coconut oil. Blend into a frothy delicious solution and apply liberally to the hair. Make sure to work the solution into the roots. Leave this gentle mask in your hair for 30 minutes and then rinse out with a natural shampoo and conditioner.

Next, make a solution of 2 parts water with one part aloe vera and strain the solution through a colander. Store this solution in the refrigerator in a spray bottle. This can be applied to the hair once you are out of the shower.

The result is a healthy shine and nice increase in volume.

It is very important that you do not use a coconut oil in this solution because oil in the hair with exposure to the sun can tend to create an environment that “cooks” the hair.

Give this a try next time you surf and enjoy the results.

Cheers.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency